Misdemeanor Larceny Virginia First Offense Second Third LawyerUpdated on: 9:45 am
Misdemeanor Larceny – First, Second & Third Offense Petit Larceny
Misdemeanor larceny in consists generally of one of the following acts:
- Larceny of goods or things worth less than $200, or
- Larceny of money or things directly from the person worth less than $5
Misdemeanor larceny in Virginia is codified under Virginia Code Section 18.2-96. It is a Class 1 misdemeanor. This charge is generally referred to as petit larceny.
The maximum penalty for this crime of larceny in Virginia is 12 months in jail and a $2500 fine.
For a second offense of misdemeanor larceny, the penalties increase significantly in Virginia.
A second offense misdemeanor larceny offense is commonly referred to as second offense petit larceny. The enhanced punishment for a second offense petit larceny is stated in Virginia Code Section 18.2-104. The penalty for a second offense petit larceny is 30 day minimum jail sentence as part of the conviction.
A third offense of petit larceny is a class 6 felony in Virginia.
If you are charged with a first, second or third offense petit larceny, call our firm for help. You can reach us at 888-437-7747.
A lawyer from our firm will discuss the facts of your petit larceny charge and advise you about your options. We will also discuss the myth of the first offense diversion program. Keep in mind that some counties in Virginia do not have a first offense diversion program. Prince William County does not have first offender diversion program.
An attorney from our firm will do his best to help you obtain the best result possible based on the facts of your case.
We have client meeting locations in Fairfax County, Prince William County, Loudoun County, Richmond, Fredericksburg, Virginia Beach & Lynchburg.
These summaries are provided by the SRIS Law Group. They represent the firm’s unofficial views of the Justices’ opinions. The original opinions should be consulted for their authoritative content.