Virginia Law Contributing To Delinquency Of A Minor 18.2-371 Lawyers FairfaxUpdated on: 1:41 am
VIRGINIA LAW CONTRIBUTING TO DELINQUENCY OF A MINOR
The law in Virginia that addresses contributing to the delinquency of a minor is governed by Virginia State Code 18.2-371.
If you have been charged with contributing to the delinquency of a minor in Virginia, contact the SRIS Law Group Virginia attorneys for help.
Our Virginia lawyers have represented numerous clients charged with contributing to the delinquency of a minor in Virginia.
Contact us at 888-437-7747.
Below is the Virginia Law that codifies contributing to the delinquency of a minor.
Virginia Law § 18.2-371. Causing or encouraging acts rendering children delinquent, abused, etc.; penalty; abandoned infant.
Any person 18 years of age or older, including the parent of any child, who (i) willfully contributes to, encourages, or causes any act, omission, or condition which renders a child delinquent, in need of services, in need of supervision, or abused or neglected as defined in § 16.1-228, or (ii) engages in consensual sexual intercourse with a child 15 or older not his spouse, child, or grandchild, shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. This section shall not be construed as repealing, modifying, or in any way affecting §§ 18.2-18, 18.2-19, 18.2-61, 18.2-63, 18.2-66, and 18.2-347.
If the prosecution under this section is based solely on the accused parent having left the child at a hospital or rescue squad, it shall be an affirmative defense to prosecution of a parent under this section that such parent safely delivered the child to a hospital that provides 24-hour emergency services or to an attended rescue squad that employs emergency medical technicians, within the first 14 days of the child’s life. In order for the affirmative defense to apply, the child shall be delivered in a manner reasonably calculated to ensure the child’s safety.
Client meeting locations in Fairfax, Richmond, Lynchburg, Loudoun, & Virginia Beach.