Updated on: 10:44 am

Virginia Move Over Law Slow Down 46.2-921.1 Fairfax Richmond Lynchburg Henrico Beach

Updated on: 10:44 am

Slow Down/Move Over Law In Virginia

VIRGINIA LAW 46.2-921.1 – SLOW DOWN/MOVE OVER LAW

Are you aware that in Virginia that there is a law that states that drivers must yield the right of way or reduce their speed when approaching stationary emergency vehicles on the highway. In Virginia, this is called the slow down/move over law. Virginia code section 46.2-921.1 is the statute that codifies the slow down/move over law.

§ 46.2-921.1. Drivers to yield right-of-way or reduce speed when approaching stationary emergency vehicles on highways; penalties.

The driver of any motor vehicle in Virginia, upon approaching a stationary emergency vehicle, as defined in § 46.2-920, that is displaying a flashing, blinking, or alternating emergency light or lights as provided in §§ 46.2-1022, 46.2-1023, and 46.2-1024, shall (i) on a highway having at least four lanes, at least two of which are intended for traffic proceeding as the approaching vehicle, proceed with caution and, if reasonable, with due regard for safety and traffic conditions, yield the right-of-way by making a lane change into a lane not adjacent to that occupied by the stationary emergency vehicle or (ii) if changing lanes would be unreasonable or unsafe, proceed with due caution and maintain a safe speed for highway conditions.

Violation of any provision of this section shall constitute a Virginia Class 1 misdemeanor. If the violation resulted in damage to property of another person, the court may, in addition, order the suspension of the driver’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle for not more than one year. If the violation resulted in injury to another person, the court may, in addition to any other penalty imposed, order the suspension of the driver’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle for not more than two years. If the violation resulted in the death of another person, the court may, in addition to any other penalty imposed, order the suspension of the driver’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle for two years.

A class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia has a maximum penalty of 12 months in jail, and or a fine of $2500. This is not a prepayable offense. You must go to court.

The SRIS, P.C. misdemeanor defense lawyers regularly defend clients charged with Virginia Law 46.2-921.1

We have offices in Northern Virginia (Fairfax & Manassas), Richmond Metro Area (Richmond), Hampton Roads/Tidewater Area (Virginia Beach) & Western Virginia (Lynchburg).

CLIENT MEETING LOCATIONS

Virginia

Fairfax County 703-278-0405
Prince William County 703-278-0405
Loudoun County 703-278-0405
Fredericksburg 703-278-0405
Richmond 804-201-9009
Virginia beach 757-512-5002
Lynchburg 434-509-4004

Maryland

Rockville 240-399-0304
Baltimore 240-399-0304
Email Us
First Name:
Last Name:
Email @:
Phone #: --
Message:

07:00 AM TO 11:00 PM
   

CLIENT MEETING LOCATIONS

   
       
     
    4008 Williamsburg Court
Fairfax, Virginia 22032
Phone: 703-278-0405
Get Direction
  201-F Royal Street, SE
Leesburg , Virginia 20175
Phone: 703-278-0405
Get Direction
  10432 Balls Ford Rd; Suite 300
Manassas, Virginia 20109
Telephone: 703-278-0405
Get Direction
  1 Columbus Center, Suite 600
Virginia Beach, Virginia 23462
Phone: 757-512-5002
Get Direction
  12000 Kennedy Lane, STE 106
Fredericksburg, Virginia 22407
Phone: 703-278-0405
Get Direction
 
                      
                       
    10825 Midlothian Turnpike,
Suite 201-2 Richmond, VA 23235
Phone: 804-201-9009

Get Direction
  3831 Old Forest Road, Suite 6
Lynchburg, Virginia 24501
Phone: 434-509-4004
Get Direction
  400 East Pratt Street, Suite 800
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
Phone: 240-399-0304
Get Direction
  1 Research Court, Suite 450
Rockville, Maryland 20850
Phone: 240-399-0304
Get Direction