PENALTY FOR NOT STOPPING FOR A STOPPED SCHOOL BUS IS A VIRGINIA RECKLESS DRIVING TICKET
Virginia State Law Section 46.2-859
What is the penalty for not stopping for a stopped school bus in VA?
Reckless Driving Ticket in Virginia
If you have received a reckless driving ticket in Virginia, then you have just gotten charged with a very serious traffic offense that is a criminal charge. You need the help of a Virginia lawyer who can defend you against a reckless driving ticket. The SRIS, P.C. attorneys can defend you against a reckless driving ticket in Virginia. You can count on our Virginia lawyers to defend you against a reckless driving ticket before the Virginia courts.
Virginia Code 46.2-859 – Passing A Stopped School Bus in Virginia Is Reckless Driving
A person is guilty of reckless driving in Virginia who fails to stop, when approaching from any direction, any school bus which is stopped on any highway, private road or school driveway for the purpose of taking on or discharging children, the elderly, or mentally or physically handicapped persons, and to remain stopped until all the persons are clear of the highway, private road or school driveway and the bus is put in motion. The driver of a vehicle, however, need not stop when approaching a school bus if the school bus is stopped on the other roadway of a divided highway, on an access road, or on a driveway when the other roadway, access road, or driveway is separated from the roadway on which he is driving by a physical barrier or an unpaved area. The driver of a vehicle also need not stop when approaching a school bus which is loading or discharging passengers from or onto property immediately adjacent to a school if the driver is directed by a law-enforcement officer or other duly authorized uniformed school crossing guard to pass the school bus. This section shall apply to school buses which are equipped with warning devices prescribed in § 46.2- 1090 and are painted yellow with the words “School Bus” in black letters at least eight inches high on the front and rear thereof. Only school buses which are painted yellow and equipped with the required lettering and warning devices shall be identified as school buses.
The testimony of the school bus driver, the supervisor of school buses or a law-enforcement officer that the vehicle was yellow, conspicuously marked as a school bus, and equipped with warning devices as prescribed in § 46.2-1090 is prima facie evidence that the vehicle is a school bus.
Virginia Reckless Driving 46.2-859 defines what constitutes as reckless driving if a driver passes stopped school bus. VA Reckless Driving 46.2-859 is the reckless driving statute that prohibits passing a school bus. Virginia Reckless Driving 46.2-859 is class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia. The maximum penalty for a conviction of VA Reckless Driving 46.2-859 is 12 months in jail, $2500 fine, 6 months loss of license in Virginia and six points on your Virginia driving record.
If you have received a Virginia reckless driving ticket for passing a stopped school bus, contact the Virginia lawyer to defend you. We can HELP!
SRIS, P.C. has client meeting locations in Northern Virginia, Central Virginia, Western Virginia & in the Hampton Roads/Tidewater Area. Our Virginia lawyers can defend you in Virginia federal courts as well.
- Northern Virginia client meeting locations – Fairfax & Manassas
- Central Virginia client meeting location – Richmond & Fredericksburg
- Hampton Roads/Tidewater Area client meeting location- Virginia Beach
- Western Virginia client meeting location – Lynchburg
Call us at 888-437-7747 today for help or reach us on line.