CONTRIBUTION TO THE DELINQUENCY OF A MINOR – VIRGINIA CODE 18.2-371
If I give alcohol to my child, can I be charged with contributing to the delinquency of a minor in Virginia?
Contribution to the delinquency of a minor has two parts. Violate either of the parts in Virginia and you can be charged with contribution to the delinquency of a minor.
If you are charged with contributing to the delinquency of a minor in Virginia, then contact the SRIS Law Group Virginia criminal lawyers for help.
Our Virginia criminal defense attorneys have defended numerous clients charged with contribution to the delinquency of a minor.
Call us today for help. We have offices in Fairfax, Richmond, Virginia Beach, Lynchburg, Manassas & Fredericksburg.
VA Code § 18.2-371. Causing or encouraging acts rendering children delinquent, abused, etc.; penalty; abandoned infant.
Any person 18 years of age or older, including the parent of any child, who (i) willfully contributes to, encourages, or causes any act, omission, or condition which renders a child delinquent, in need of services, in need of supervision, or abused or neglected as defined in § 16.1-228, or (ii) engages in consensual sexual intercourse with a child 15 or older not his spouse, child, or grandchild, shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. This section shall not be construed as repealing, modifying, or in any way affecting §§ 18.2-18, 18.2-19, 18.2-61, 18.2-63, and 18.2-347.
If the prosecution under this section is based solely on the accused parent having left the child at a hospital or rescue squad, it shall be an affirmative defense to prosecution of a parent under this section that such parent safely delivered the child to a hospital that provides 24-hour emergency services or to an attended rescue squad that employs emergency medical technicians, within the first 14 days of the child’s life. In order for the affirmative defense to apply, the child shall be delivered in a manner reasonably calculated to ensure the child’s safety.