3rd Degree Sex Offense Maryland Lawyer
If a person is charged with a sex offense in the state of Maryland, it is best recommended that he or she hires an expert attorney, as sex crimes are serious cases and a skillful attorney is needed to help get the charges reduced or help to gain a plea bargain from the court of Maryland.
Sex offenses are the forcing of other people to engage in sexual acts without their consent. Sex offence cases are categorized under sex crime cases, rape cases and sex offenses. Sex offenses is then divided into four other parts, 1st-degree sex offenses, 2nd-degree sex offenses, 3rd-degree sex offenses, and 4th-degree ex cases. These degrees are organized according to the seriousness of the cases, from the most severe cases and going down to the least severe cases respectively.
Different from the first two degrees, the 3rd degree is of less seriousness and the penalties of a 3rd-degree sex offense are less regarding jail time.
The exploits mentioned below are considered to be a 3rd-degree sex offense, in accordance with the laws of Maryland, and anyone who performs these acts may face an offense and may be sentenced to jail time.
3rd-degree sex offenses include:
- Engaging in sexual contact such as, purposely touching the victim’s genitals, anus, or other related parts for sexual pleasure or mistreatment.
- Participating in sexual contact without the consent of the other person using either violence like strangling or kidnapping or, displaying weapons or using weapons to seriously injure him or her, or threatening the victim with death or severe injury.
- Making the victims feel that he or she is in great danger, or the defendant makes the victim think that he or she will be physically hurt.
- The aiding of another person to commit the above acts.
- The defendant is well aware that the victim is mentally or physically disable or incapacitated or physically helpless, including being drunk, high or unconscious.
- The victim is under the age of 14 and the defendant is four years older at most than the victim.
- Statutory rape, which means that the defendant has engaged in a sexual act such as, oral sex, anal sex, or vaginal sex with a minor of the age of 14 or 15 victims and that the sex offender is of no less than 21 years of age.
The penalties of 3rd-degree sex offenses in Maryland are of a shorter sentence than the previous two divisions of sex offenses. The court of the state of Virginia will sentence anyone who commits any of the above acts of crime to 10 years of jail time maximum.
However that the jail time is not as long as the previous sex offenses, the person who committed the 3rd degree sex offence will still be required to register as a sex offender, which will not be in the person’s best interest later in the future, as it will be challenging for him or her to be hired for applied jobs and also to be accepted to reside with other people.
If you need a Maryland sex offense lawyer to help you with your sex offense case in Maryland, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Maryland sex offense attorneys can help you. C