Virginia Child Abuse
Child abuse is defined as the mistreatment of a child. This can be done physically, sexually, psychologically, or by neglecting a child. Virginia law states that child abuse is a felony that is recognized as a felony and punished accordingly. Child abuse can be due to the neglect of a child by a parent, guardian, etc. For a child abuse case to occur, a serious injury must occur.
Some of these include:
- Broken bones;
- Life-threatening internal injuries; Y
- Permanent limb injury that will not function properly after the incident.
Virginia Law stipulates that in order for a case to be considered a crime of child abuse, certain conditions must be present. These conditions are:
- The one who committed the crime is the parent, guardian or someone who was assigned to care for the child;
- The offender intended to abuse the child; Y
- The child had an injury due to abuse and mistreatment by parents, guardian, etc.
Child abuse is recognized as a serious crime in all cases. General abuse of a child is an offense that is taken as a class four felony. This implies that the punishment for child abuse is a term in jail that varies from two to ten years and a fine that can go up to but not exceed $100,000. The case is different when the abuse is the contempt or neglect of a child. Child abuse in the form of ignoring a child is perceived as a class six statutory felony. This implies that the discipline for child abuse in the form of neglecting a child is imprisonment for a period ranging from one to five years. Time and time again, the court may choose to reduce the punishment to the felony with similar discipline awarded to a class one or class A misdemeanor violation.
Virginia law states that there are certain professionals who must report any suspicion that someone is abusing a child in any way possible.
These professionals include but are not limited to the following:
- Social workers;
- Police officers;
- Counselors; Y
Virginia law also states that there are severe punishments for those over the age of 14 and an intentional false report of child abuse. This type of offense is known as a class one or class A misdemeanor. If the offense is repeated, the offense will be recognized as a class six felony.
Virginia’s child abuse laws recognize child abuse as a serious crime . This felony is recognized as a class four felony. This implies that he is punishable by two to ten years in prison and/or a fine that can go up to, but not exceed, $100,000. Child abuse in the form of child neglect is taken as a class six felony and punished accordingly to the class.
If you need a Virginia child abuse attorney to help you with your Virginia child abuse case, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia child abuse attorneys can help. C