Acquiring a reckless driving charge is a very serious problem for both out-of-state and local drivers. They both have to go through Virginia’s tough traffic laws. Similarly, for locals, out-of-state drivers must appear in court for reckless driving charges. If a driver is charged with reckless driving, he will be given a court date by which he must appear. If they don’t show up, the judge has a couple of options to choose from. They may prove them in your absence or they may issue an arrest warrant to try to get the person to appear in court. It is best if the driver shows up to court on the required date rather than risk a warrant, however, in many cases,
The following are the fines for a reckless driving charge in the state of Virginia:
If the driver is convicted of reckless driving under Virginia law, they can be sentenced to up to 12 months in jail.
A reckless driving charge in Virginia can result in a fine of up to $2,500.
The driver can have their license suspended for up to six months if they are convicted of reckless driving in the state of Virginia.
It should be noted that each state is unique. Some states will not recognize traffic convictions from other states. Some states will not recognize the points related to those traffic convictions. However, most states are part of a mutual reporting agreement that requires charges as serious as reckless driving to be reported, so out-of-state drivers will have some impact at home. Sometimes reckless driving and how it is treated is more serious in Virginia than in other states.
If the driver has been charged with reckless driving in Virginia as an out-of-state driver, it is in your best interest to contact a Virginia reckless driving attorney as soon as possible since the out-of-state driver is not familiar with the traffic. Virginia Laws. An attorney experienced in the law will be able to tell the driver what penalties he faces in his home or local state and how this charge affects his life. In addition, an attorney will be able to help the driver put together a strong defense to try to have his charges reduced or dropped if possible.
For out-of-state drivers, a charge in Virginia can also affect your driver’s license in your country. In some cases, it could mean that the driver’s out-of-state license is suspended or revoked.
Since the violation is a criminal offense and not just a traffic ticket, the driver will have to appear to face charges against him. For out-of-state violators, the driver can waive the appearance, but that may not be his best option. The driver’s attorney will be able to specifically recommend whether he or she should appear in person or may waive his or her appearance.
If you need a Virginia Reckless Driving attorney to help you with your Virginia Reckless Driving case, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Reckless Driving Lawyers can help. C