Sex crimes are part of some of the most difficult cases to prove and try in Maryland. The more serious a sexual crime, the more severe the punishment for this crime. Unlike rape, which is divided into two stages of severity, sexual offense is divided into four degrees. First, second, third and fourth degree sex crimes consist of different types of assaults and the penalties get easier as the number increases, meaning the fourth degree is much less demanding than the first.
First degree sexual offense can be described as performing any sexual act but not having sexual intercourse with someone who is not conscientious. Persons who allegedly execute this crime towards a victim using force, a weapon, or threatening to use force and a weapon.
A person can be charged with a felony if they are attempting or are being charged with committing a sexual offense in the first degree.
When a Maryland sex crime victim is under the age of 16, or the accused side is 18 or older with victims under the age of 13, the charges will be more serious. If a person is charged with and found guilty of a first-degree sex offense, they can be sentenced to 25 years to life in a Maryland jail.
DNA evidence is generally the main player in sex crime crimes. Positively matched DNA can be useful for status. This type of evidence is important to support the victim’s accusations or to show that the accused person is falsely framed for a sex crime. If the evidence shows that the DNA does not belong to the accused person, the sex crime charges against them will be dismissed immediately. Young accusers may sometimes lie because they are angry with their parents, family members, or friends. This is why psychologists are called in such cases. However, the credibility of an accuser becomes paramount when physical evidence of the victim is found.
The first and second sexual offenses differ in several ways. Second degree sexual offense is the use of force or threat of force, like the first degree.
However, to be charged with a second degree sex crime in Maryland, the victim must be mentally incapacitated, disabled, or under the influence of alcohol or drugs. This is also imputed to people who attempted to commit statutory rape of minors. Unlike first degree, second degree punishments are sentenced up to 20 years in jail.
First degree differs from third degree in the amount of jail time and the age of the accusers and defendants. Victims must be 14 or 15 years old, and the offender must be 21 years or older. Penalties for this crime can include ten years in jail instead of 25 years and more for the first degree.
Fourth grade is not as strict as first grade in Maryland. If a person is charged with this crime for the first time, they can face a year in jail and a fine of $1,000. Generally, this type of sexual offense occurs in a school setting when an authority figure abuses power and commits a sexual assault on an elementary or high school student.
If you need a Maryland sex crimes attorney to help you with your Maryland sex crimes case, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Maryland sex crimes attorneys can help. C