When it comes to understanding your legal options in the event you have been in a car accident in Virginia, it is important to know the 4 state car accident rules that can significantly affect your car accident claim.
The Virginia Car Accident Statute of Limitations:
Also, in Virginia there are a minimum of 3 statutes of limitations that can come into play after you have been in a car accident and they are:
- Damage to a vehicle or other property judgments where the defendant has 5 years to bring a charge against the offender under Virginia Code section 8.01-243
- Car accident injury claims, which means that in the event that one or more people were injured in the accident, regardless of who they are, they must file a lawsuit in Virginia civil court against the offender within 2 years of on the day of the accident.
- Finally, in the severe case that the car accident caused a death, the family of the deceased or a representative have a period of 2 years to file the lawsuit from the minute in which the death of the victim occurs, as established in the Virginia Code section 8.01-244 (Also, in some cases it could occur after the date of the accident.)
It is important to note that in the event that you file a car accident lawsuit after the deadline, there is a high chance that your case will be dismissed, especially if the person you are suing asks the court to do so. make. So, even if you’re sure your case will go through auto insurance claims, always give yourself plenty of time to present your case, even if it’s just to influence the offender during settlement negotiations.
Contributory Negligence in Virginia Car Accident Cases:
Unlike the “comparative negligence” rule that most states in the United States use to reimburse the at-fault driver, Virginia is different because of the “contributory negligence” rule, in which if you are the only responsible for the cause In the accident, you will not receive any compensation from the other driver. Therefore, this rule not only binds Virginia judges and juries, but also directs an auto insurance claims adjuster when he/she is evaluating her case. In general, as harsh as this rule is, don’t let it stop you from filing a car accident claim. Also, talk to Virginia car accident attorneys about your case and see what your best course of action is.
Report a car accident in Virginia:
Reporting a car accident is your duty because it is outlined in Chapter 8 of the Code of Virginia. Also, in the event of property damage, injury, and death in a car accident, you must report it to your state or local law enforcement agency. A report must include a person’s name, driver’s license number, vehicle registration number, and address. Failure to comply with this duty may give rise to criminal liability, the severity of the offense depending on the severity of the car accident.
Virginia auto insurance requirements:
Insurance coverage plays a key role in most car accidents in Virginia, which is why it is imperative to understand the Virginia liability car insurance requirements along with the other coverage rules that could affect your car accident case. .
If you need a Virginia car accident attorney to help you with your Virginia car accident case, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia car accident attorneys can help. C