How much does it cost to file for divorce in Virginia?
In accordance with the laws of Virginia, divorce is defined by a court or other component body as the legal termination of the marriage. Divorce may occur somewhere between three months and two years depending on whether the divorce is a contested divorce or an uncontested one. It takes three months for a normal uncontested divorce. The normal divorce in question may take one year. The amount of time required to complete divorce between two people depends on the decision of the judge, the district and the desire of both parties to speed up the divorce or to delay the divorce.
- Unquestioned divorce is a divorce in which both parties agree on all divorce conditions. In such circumstances, the court is not required to intervene. These conditions may include child custody if there is one child who pays child support, etc. An uncontested divorce will make the divorce less complex, faster and will minimize the expenses.
- A disputed divorce is a divorce in which both parties cannot agree on the terms and conditions of divorce. Those terms and conditions contain but are not limited to:
- Asset division;
- Debt allocation;
- Support for children; and
- Child custody.
As indicated by a certain overview, the normal divorce in Virginia costs $14500, incorporating $11,500 in lawyers’ charges. Lawyers’ charges are a huge lump of the expense of divorce on the grounds that the normal hourly rate for lawyers in Virginia is $280. The lawyer’s hourly rate, in addition to the rate of any legal assistants and other firm staff, figured with the aggregate time spent on the divorce case will decide the measure of lawyers’ charges the individual pays. Different costs combine charges for things like court filings, the expense of replicating and sharing archives and pay for master observers and experts (like childcare evaluators, appraisers, or monetary investigators).
In practice in Virginia, what may increase a divorce cost over the average given above?
Parties who want to divorce yet have minor children or a high total of assets will have a higher divorce cost than normal.
Other reasons that may cause an increase in divorce costs include:
If the divorce was caused by the following:
- Adultery; and
- Physical pain or cruelty.
Child custody or support:
On average, divorce costs increase by $7000 when a child is involved either for his/ her custody or for his/ her support.
On average, divorce costs increase by $6000 when there are property division issues between the two parties.
On average, divorce costs increase by $5,500 when there are certain disagreements in the alimony.
What may decrease a divorce cost under the average given above?
If the two parties of the case legally separated six months before the case.
How much does uncontested divorce cost in accordance with the laws of Virginia?
More often than not, with regards to uncontested divorces, retainers have a range of $2,500 and $5,000. Be that as it may, for the most part, generally speaking, expenses in an uncontested divorce case ordinarily extend from $1,500 to $5,000 which, for the vast majority, is a substantially more reasonable range.
If you need a Virginia Divorce lawyer to help you with your divorce case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia divorce attorneys can help you.