Maryland Child Abuse Lawyer Rockville Child Abuse Lawyer
- Posted by admin
- 0 Comment(s)
First of all, what is Child abuse?
Child abuse is defined in Maryland law as “Any parent, adoptive parent or other person who has the permanent or temporary care or custody of a minor child under the age of fourteen years who maliciously beats, strikes, or otherwise mistreats such minor child to such degree as to require medical treatment for such child shall be guilty of a felony, and upon conviction shall be sentenced to not more than fifteen years in prison.
Child abuse is reported to the local Departments of Social Services (hereafter referred to as LDSS).
Professionals are not responsible for investigating or collecting evidence of abuse or neglect, but they are required to report a suspected incident if they have reason to believe that abuse or neglect has taken place.
- The Subcommittee on Children and Youth of the Senate Committee on Labor and Public Welfare conducted hearings to consider the enactment of legislation to prevent child abuse.” The product of these hearings was the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act of 1973.12. This Act provides financial assistance to the states for demonstration programs directed toward the prevention, identification and treatment of child abuse and neglect, and establishes a National Center on Child Abuse and Neglect. The Act also includes certain standards required of the states in order for them to be eligible for federal assistance.
- If you would like to talk to a lawyer concerning a possible or existing child abuse case, you can contact a Maryland criminal defense attorney in your area to schedule a confidential consultation.
- Child abuse is broken down into two degrees: first-degree child abuse and second-degree child abuse.
First-degree child abuse in Maryland refers to a parent or person who has permanent or temporary care custody of a minor and causes abuse to the minor that results in “severe physical injury” or death such as:
- Causing brain energy or bleeding within the skull.
- Not feeding the minor (causing starvation) which leads to other diseases and eventually death.
- Other physical injuries that cause permanent impairment of bodily functions or loss of function in any body part.
Any person who commits any of the aforementioned felonies (causing harm or injury to the minor) is guilty of first-degree child abuse and must be put in prison for up to 25 years. If a person causes the minor’s death, then that person should be put in prison for no less than 35 – 40 years.
Second-degree child abuse refers to a person that must be a family member, a household member or an individual with temporary or even permanent custody care to cause abuse to the minor such as:
- Resulting in physical injury.
- Causing harm to the minor’s health.
- Demonstrating a threat to the minor’s welfare.
A person who commits any of the actions mentioned above in Maryland is considered guilty of the crime and must be put in prison for up to 15 years.
If you need a Maryland Child Abuse Lawyer to help you with your Child Abuse case in Maryland, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Maryland Child Abuse Attorneys can help you. C