Getting a reckless driving ticket in the state of Virginia is a very serious issue as it is considered a criminal offense and will be on the driver’s record for 11 years. Reckless driving is typically charged as a first class misdemeanor in Virginia. The following are the consequences of reckless driving in Virginia.
State law allows for a prison sentence of up to 12 months. Generally, if this is the driver’s first offense, then it will not result in that type of sentence, but if the driver has repeated reckless convictions or has an overall poor driving record, the likelihood of a jail sentence increases.
The maximum fine under Virginia law is $2,500. Depending on the case, an average reckless driving ticket is about $300 to $1,000.
If the driver is found guilty of reckless driving, he/she may face suspension of their driver’s license from ten days to six months. To get her license back, he/she must meet all conditions set by the judge, which could include completion of a driver improvement clinic. The driver also has to pay a reinstatement fee to the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles).
Virginia has a complex point system for drivers. Everyone starts at zero points and can earn positive points by having good driving behavior. If the court convicts the driver and he/she has a Virginia license, the DMV will assess six demerit points. The conviction will remain on the driver’s driving record for 11 years. If he/she accumulates too many demerit points too quickly, the DMV may send him/her to a driver improvement clinic or suspend his/her license altogether. If the driver has a license from another state, their home state controls the points they would earn.
In addition to criminal penalties, there are a number of other ways a reckless driving conviction can affect a driver’s life, such as:
Insurance companies have their own individual criteria for setting rates on a driver’s auto insurance policy, but a reckless driving conviction is likely to cause the driver’s insurance company to increase their rates. Some companies may even choose to cancel the driver’s policy.
A conviction for reckless driving will result in having a misdemeanor or criminal offense that lasts 11 years. Therefore, reckless driving in Virginia is very strict in terms of the law.
If the driver has been charged with reckless driving due to an accident, a guilty plea or conviction may allow anyone who was injured or whose property was damaged to sue the driver in civil court.
If the driver applies for a security clearance, or already has one, they will likely have to disclose their reckless driving conviction. Whether that prevents the driver from getting or keeping a job as a government contractor or employee is up to the licensing agency.
The procedure that the driver goes through, either to plead guilty or to fight the case, is complicated since the traffic laws in the state of Virginia are complex and require a professional.
Therefore, reckless driving in Virginia is bad enough and can have several consequences for drivers residing in Virginia or driving.
If you need a Virginia Reckless Driving attorney to help you with your Virginia Reckless Driving case, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Reckless Driving Lawyers can help. C