Charges of Virginia reckless driving by speed is a class 1 misdemeanor. For local residents, this is a dreaded offense. If you have an out of state license, it can be more of a nightmare because you now have to come to the state of Virginia to resolve this offense.
In the state of Virginia, speed offenses range from ordinary traffic offenses or reckless driving.
If the driver travels at a speed of more than 20 miles per hour, the driver will most likely be charged with reckless driving.
For an ordinary speeding ticket, you will have to pay $6 for each mile driven above the speed limit per hour. A conviction for a reckless speeding ticket can cost you a fine of $2,500 and a jail term of not more than one year. An out of state driver should know the difference between speeding tickets and reckless driving tickets to avoid any further trouble.
In the state of Virginia, punishments for reckless driving are stricter than in other states. One big disadvantage for an out of state driver convicted of reckless driving in Virginia is that the driver will suffer the punishment imposed by the state issuing the license in addition to whatever punishment the driver has to deal with in Virginia.
This means when a court in Virginia sentences you for reckless driving, as an out of state driver having a license from another state, you will be punished with possibly an equivalent punishment in your home state. For a clear understanding, if the state of Virginia issues a punishment of six demerit points for reckless driving, you own home state may have a different corresponding punishment for it and you will have to adhere to it. In most cases, the demerit points for the driver’s license will be less since the state of Virginia has one of the strictest punishments in law.
Drivers with a license issued in another state should know that reckless driving offense is a class one (1) misdemeanor in Virginia. The penalties for a reckless driving ticket in Virginia is up to six months in jail, a maximum fine of $2500 and suspension of driving privileges for six months. Out of state drivers driving in or through the state of Virginia should also know that the punishments will apply to them and they may be punished for the offense in their home state.
Mr. Sris has defended over 1000 clients charged with reckless driving in VA