You may not be aware that being charged with DUI in Rockville, Maryland may be one of the biggest mistakes you can make.
If you are charged with DUI in Rockville, MD, the first thing you should do is seek a qualified DWI Rockville lawyer to represent you.
Maryland law fixes the limit for DUI as 0.08. If anyone drives a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher than that, such person will face a DUI charge in Maryland.
The offense of driving under the influence of alcohol by persons below the age of 21 is treated very harshly in Maryland. For an underage drinking and driving charge with a blood alcohol content of 0.02 or higher, the Maryland law imposes a penalty of suspension or revocation of license. For a first time offense of DUI in Rockville, Maryland, the law imposes a punishment of one-year jail sentence and a $1000 fine. If such person repeats the offense for the second time, the jail sentence will be extended to 2 years and the fine may be increased to $2000.
For the first time offense of DUI in Rockville, MD, if such driver was also transporting a minor during the arrest, then the law imposes a 2-year jail sentence and a $2000 fine. This charge could also lead to a 45-day license suspension. For a second time offense of a DUI in MD, if the driver was transporting a minor, the law imposes a three-year jail sentence and a $3000 fine with the possibility of license suspension of 1 year.
If someone is convicted of DUI in MD for the third time, a 3 year imprisonment and a $3000 fine are imposed and if a minor is transported at the time of arrest, four years imprisonment and $4000 fine may be imposed. This charge would also result in a one and a half year suspension of such person’s driving license.
Most offenders in Maryland are not aware that there exists a law in Maryland which makes refusal to take a breath/blood test punishable with a fine and suspension of license. As the legal consequences of DUI in Maryland are extremely stringent, a highly capable attorney should be the one to represent your case.
If you have been charged with a DWI in Rockville, MD, contact a Rockville DUI lawyer for help. Call our office at 888-437-7747.
Mr. Sris has defended numerous clients charged with a DUI in Rockville Maryland.
We are also you DUI lawyer in Besthesda, MD, DWI lawyer in Rockville, MD, DWI Attorney in Rockville, MD, DWI defense lawyer in Rockville, MD, DWI defense attorney in Rockville, MD, DUI lawyer in Ellicot City, MD, DWI lawyer in Howard County, MD, DWI lawyer in Anne Arundel, MD, DWI lawyer in Worcester, MD, DWI lawyer in Ocean City, MD.