Alexandria General District Court Traffic Lawyer VA Reckless Driving Virginia Uniform Summons

Traffic Lawyer Alexandria VA

When traveling through the State of Virginia, an out of state driver needs to be extra cautious. If you get a reckless driving ticket in Alexandria, Virginia, you should understand that this is a serious offense, possibly resulting in the Alexandria court sentencing you to jail. You need to deal with it by all means, as the charge could be properly considered by the court and dismissed or reduced to some less serious charge. Being an out of state driver, it is understandable that you may not be able to deal with the charges on your own. This is reason enough for you to engage an Alexandria, Virginia traffic attorney experienced in dealing with traffic violations in Alexandria.

What is a reckless driving ticket in Virginia?

Reckless driving is laid out by Virginia law as driving in a manner that puts other people at risk of injury or death or causes danger to property. An individual can be charged with this broad definition under different statutes that categorize reckless driving in different forms. However, the most general way for an individual to be charged with reckless driving is for speeding +20mph past the installed speed limit or going at speed exceeding 80 mph. One can also be charged with reckless driving for causing an accident that damages property and / or causes injury.

Since in Virginia, reckless driving is classed as a misdemeanor, the penalties that an individual can receive are:

  • A fine of $2,500
  • Spend 1 year in jail.
  • Permanent criminal record
  • Have negative points on their license
  • An increase in insurance payments
  • Suspension of driving license

Punishment for a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia

§ 18.2-11. Punishment for conviction of misdemeanor.

The authorized punishments for conviction of a misdemeanor are:

(a) For Class 1 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.

(b) For Class 2 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than six months and a fine of not more than $1,000, either or both.

(c) For Class 3 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $500.

(d) For Class 4 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $250.

For a misdemeanor offense prohibiting proximity to children as described in subsection A of § 18.2-370.2, the sentencing court is authorized to impose the punishment set forth in subsection B of that section in addition to any other penalty provided by law.

The severity of the punishment and the impact it will have on your life is enough to make it clear that you will need an experienced attorney in Alexandria, Virginia in traffic laws.

What Are Some Of The Commonly Charged Traffic Tickets in Alexandria Virginia?

Traffic tickets are also known as traffic infractions in Alexandria, Virginia. They may be considered moving violations, which usually result in demerit points against your license, or non-moving violations, which typically result in fines only. Either way, the conviction is likely to be entered on your driving record. When you get a traffic ticket in Alexandria, Virginia, the officer typically gives you a Virginia Uniform Summons. When you get a simple traffic infraction, you can usually prepay the fines and you do not have to go to court in Alexandria.

VERY IMPORTANT NOTE: Prepaying an Alexandria, Virginia traffic ticket has the effect of a guilty plea and will result in a conviction being recorded against you.

On a Virginia driving record, demerit points will remain for two years and the record of the offense will stay on your driving record anywhere from 3 to 11 years, depending on the offense. In addition, your driver’s license could get suspended if you pay your fines late or accumulate too many demerit points. Common Alexandria, traffic infractions include:

  • Speeding
  • Driving with a taillight or headlight that does not work
  • Failing to come to a complete stop at a red light before turning right
  • Running a red light
  • Driving too close to a vehicle
  • Improper turn
  • Improper passing
  • Failing to yield
  • Failing to obey a highway sign or lane marking
  • Making an illegal U-turn

Virginia Misdemeanor Traffic Offenses

Some traffic tickets are considered misdemeanors in Alexandria, Virginia. If you are convicted, you face more serious penalties, will have a permanent criminal record, and be assessed demerit points on your driver’s record. Some common traffic violations that fall into this category include:

  • Driving on a suspended license. This is a Class 1 misdemeanor—the most serious in Virginia. The penalties include up to one year in jail, fines of up to $2,500, and a suspension of your license for 90 days. Speak to an Alexandria Driving On A Suspended License Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
  • Driving on a revoked license. This is also a Class 1 misdemeanor with similar sentences to driving on a suspended license. However, a third offense would be a Class 6 felony. In addition, your driver’s license would be revoked—more serious than having it suspended with additional requirements for it to be reinstated. Speak to an Alexandria Driving On A Revoked License Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
  • Driving Without A License. Virginia law exempts certain people. If you are a non-resident, a new Virginia resident, a military service member or their spouse, you may have additional technical legal defenses. Speak to an Alexandria Driving Without A License Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747

If you’ve been charged with driving without a license in Virginia, don’t make the common mistake of trying to go it alone without an experienced Alexandria, Virginia traffic lawyer. You need an aggressive and knowledgeable Alexandria, Virginia traffic attorney who will fight for your rights and, where appropriate, negotiate a favorable outcome. Let us be your Alexandria traffic lawyer.

§ 46.2-300. Driving without license prohibited

No person, except those expressly exempted in §§ 46.2-303 through 46.2-308, shall drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver’s license, as provided in this article, satisfactorily passed the examination required by § 46.2-325, and obtained a driver’s license, nor unless the license is valid.

A violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.

Upon conviction under this section, the court may suspend the person’s privilege to drive for a period not to exceed 90 days.

Alexandria DUI. A first offense DUI charge is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The penalties can include a fine of between $250 and $2,500, jail sentence of up to one year, revocation of your license for one year, and more. Clients need to understand that due to Alexandria’s close proximity to DC, regardless of who you are, they are going to prosecute you very aggressively if you get charged with a DUI. What we mean by this is that is don’t expect any breaks because you have a security clearance and you are charged with a DUI. Speak to an Alexandria DUI Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747

Insurance and Security Clearance Ramifications

In addition to the actual penalties imposed by a court, you should consider the effect a conviction will have on your motor vehicle insurance rates. Insurance companies use their own point system and may raise your rates or refuse to renew your policy, even for a conviction for a single offense. If an insurance company raises your rates, this will usually be for a term of three years. These costs add up.

If you possess a government security clearance, this may also be affected by a conviction for a motor vehicle related charge, especially for offenses involving drugs or alcohol, or those for which you could be jailed.

If you have received an Alexandria traffic citation and you want to meet with a Alexandria traffic lawyer, you can meet with an Alexandria traffic lawyer at our Fairfax office. Call today to schedule an appointment and speak with a Law Offices Of SRIS, P.C. Alexandria traffic lawyer.

Please understand that Arlington prosecutors aggressively prosecute Alexandria traffic violations. The judges in Alexandria General District Court are not at all averse to sentencing people to jail on reckless driving cases and DUI because of the high density of individuals living in Alexandria. So if you have received a high speed reckless driving charge or DUI, call our office immediately to secure skilled Alexandria traffic defense representation. Call today 888-437-7747.

If you have been charged with a traffic ticket in Alexandria, Virginia, call the Law Offices of SRIS, P.C. for help. We are your Alexandria traffic ticket lawyer in Virginia, Alexandria traffic defense lawyer in Virginia, Alexandria reckless driving lawyer in Virginia, Alexandria DUI lawyer in Virginia, Alexandria traffic ticket defense lawyer in Virginia, uniform summons lawyer in Virginia, reckless driving lawyer in Virginia.

Alexandria General District Court

18th Judicial District of Virginia

Clerk

Ms Marion W. Jackson

Phone/Fax

Traffic: (703) 746-4041
Criminal: (703) 746-4030

Clerk's Office Hours

8:00 AM – 4:00 PM

Alexandria, VA, USA

Address

520 King Street, Second Floor
P. O. Box 320489
Alexandria, VA 22320-4489

Court Schedule

Arraignments and Video Arraignments

9:00 a.m.

Traffic Docket

9:30 a.m., Mon., Tues., Wed., Thurs., Fri.

Criminal Docket

9:30 a.m., Mon., Tues., Wed., Fri.

Motorcycle Officers

9:30 a.m., Thurs.

Preliminary Hearings

11:00 a.m., Mon., Tues., Wed., Fri.

Small Claims

11:00 a.m., every Thurs.

ASAP Returns

1:30 p.m., 1st Mon. each month

Alexandria General District Court

Our Office

Continuance Policy

Continuances granted by Judge for civil and criminal cases; by Clerk for infractions for one continuance. *****CELL PHONE POLICY***** Effective October 2, 2017, and pursuant to Virginia Code Section 8.01-4, all cell phones, cameras, video recording devices or similar equipment will be prohibited inside the Alexandria Courthouse without court authorization. Persons exempted from this policy are Law Enforcement Personnel, Attorneys, Media and Courthouse Staff. Individuals who need their phones/devices for evidence or any other purpose must request permission from the judge in court, and permission may be granted by the judge on a case by case basis. C