Traffic Lawyer Caroline County VA
Accidents have become more frequent these days in Caroline County, which is indeed a big concern. Accidents that occur on a public highway will be heard in the traffic court. If your travel plans do not work out the way you had planned and you end up in an accident, the first thing you need to do is contact a Caroline traffic lawyer who handles traffic cases in Caroline County. Collecting evidence in favor of your defense is important to win the case.
The most confusing part of being charged for a traffic offense in Caroline County arises on being charged with reckless driving. There are two charges relating to speeding that can confuse the accused about the seriousness of the offense. One charge is reckless driving by speed. The charge of reckless driving by speed arises if one person is charged for driving at 80 miles per hour or 20 miles per hour above the specified speed limit. This charge is considered by most offenders to be a simple traffic infraction and will be shocked to know that it is a class one misdemeanor. This charge will result in 12 months in jail with a fine of $ 2,500.
Another offense that is taken lightly by offenders is driving on a suspended license in Caroline County, VA.
Most offenders are unaware that on being charged with driving after their license has been suspended, a person may become liable for a class one misdemeanor depending on the reason for the license suspension.
If you intend to escape from such harsh consequences, you should not hesitate to hire an experienced Caroline County traffic lawyer.
Often people, charged for DUI, based on low Blood Alcohol Concentration, do not take the DUI charge seriously. However, the Virginia law considers a first time DUI offense as a class one misdemeanor and imposes imprisonment of one year and license suspension for 12 months.
If you are charged with a traffic offense in Caroline County, a Caroline County traffic attorney should be consulted with to understand your options. Only a Caroline County attorney practicing in this field will know what defenses to look for and how to present the case in a manner that is most favorable to the defendant.
Other Caroline County, VA offenses that are considered as traffic offenses under Virginia law are as follows,
- § 46.2-802 Drive on right side of highways
- § 46.2-806 One-way roadways and highways
- § 46.2-808.1 Use of crossovers on controlled-access highways
- § 46.2-816 Following too closely
- § 46.2-821 Vehicles entering highways shall stop or yield right-of-way
- § 46.2-822 Right-of-way at circular intersections
- § 46.2-830 Fail to obey highway sign
- § 46.2-830.1 Failure to obey highway sign while sleeping
- § 46.2-833 Fail to obey traffic signal
- § 46.2-833.1 Evasion of a traffic control device
- § 46.2-835 Right turn on steady red light after stopping
- § 46.2-844 Passing stopped school bus
- § 46.2-845 Illegal U-turn
- § 46.2-870 Speeding
Whatever Caroline traffic offense you may be charged with, you should never take the risk of handling it yourself because any error you make in representation will have long-lasting consequences. Consulting a Caroline County traffic attorney may be the key to your acquittal.
What Are Some Of The Commonly Charged Traffic Tickets in Caroline County Virginia?
Traffic tickets are also known as traffic infractions in Caroline County, Virginia. They may be considered moving violations, which usually result in demerit points against your license, or non-moving violations, which typically result in fines only. Either way, the conviction is likely to be entered on your driving record. When you get a traffic ticket in Caroline County, Virginia, the officer typically gives you a Virginia Uniform Summons. When you get a simple traffic infraction, you can usually prepay the fines and you do not have to go to Caroline County traffic court.
VERY IMPORTANT NOTE: If you prepay a traffic ticket, this will have the effect of a guilty plea and a conviction will be recorded against you.
On a Virginia driving record, demerit points will remain for two years and the record of the offense will stay on your driving record anywhere from 3 to 11 years, depending on the offense. In addition, your driver’s license could get suspended if you pay your fines late or accumulate too many demerit points. Common Caroline County, VA traffic infractions include:
- Driving with a taillight or headlight that does not work
- Failing to come to a complete stop at a red light before turning right
- Running a red light
- Driving too close to a vehicle
- Improper turn
- Improper passing
- Failing to yield
- Failing to obey a highway sign or lane marking
- Making an illegal U-turn
Virginia Misdemeanor Traffic Offenses
Some traffic tickets are considered misdemeanors in Caroline County, Virginia. If you are convicted, you face more serious penalties, will have a permanent criminal record, and be assessed demerit points on your driver’s record. Some common traffic violations that fall into this category include:
- Driving on a suspended license. This is a Class 1 misdemeanor—the most serious in Virginia. The penalties include up to one year in jail, fines of up to $2,500, and a suspension of your license for 90 days. Speak to a Caroline Driving On A Suspended License Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
- Driving on a revoked license. This is also a Class 1 misdemeanor with similar sentences to driving on a suspended license. However, a third offense would be a Class 6 felony. In addition, your driver’s license would be revoked—more serious than having it suspended with additional requirements for it to be reinstated. Speak to a Caroline Driving On A Revoked License Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
- Driving Without A License. Virginia law exempts certain people. If you are a non-resident, a new Virginia resident, a military service member or their spouse, you may have additional technical legal defenses. Speak to a Caroline Driving Without A License Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
If you’ve been charged with driving without a license in Virginia, don’t make the common mistake of trying to go it alone without an experienced Caroline Virginia traffic lawyer. You need an aggressive and knowledgeable Caroline Virginia traffic attorney who will fight for your rights and, where appropriate, negotiate a favorable outcome. Let us be your legal advocate.
§ 46.2-300. Driving without license prohibited
No person, except those expressly exempted in § 46.2-303 through § 46.2-308, shall drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver’s license, as provided in this article, satisfactorily passed the examination required by § 46.2-325, and obtained a driver’s license, nor unless the license is valid.
A violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Upon conviction under this section, the court may suspend the person’s privilege to drive for a period not to exceed 90 days.
DUI. A first offense DUI charge is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The penalties can include a fine of between $250 and $2,500, jail sentence of up to one year, revocation of your license for one year, and more. Speak to a Caroline DUI Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
Insurance and Security Clearance Ramifications
In addition to the actual penalties imposed by a court, you should consider the effect a conviction will have on your motor vehicle insurance rates. Insurance companies use their own point system and may raise your rates or refuse to renew your policy, even for a conviction for a single offense. If an insurance company raises your rates, this will usually be for a term of three years. These costs add up.
If you possess a government security clearance, this may also be affected by a conviction for a motor vehicle related charge, especially for offenses involving drugs or alcohol, or those for which you could be jailed.
Because so many people travel through this County, law enforcement is extremely vigilant and target high speed reckless driving, DUI and other moving violations offenses. So if you have been charged with a Caroline high speed reckless driving offense, Caroline DUI or Caroline moving violation citation, call and speak to a Law Offices Of SRIS, P.C. Caroline lawyer for real answers and options. 888-437-7747.
If you have received a traffic citation and you want to meet with a traffic lawyer, you can meet with a Caroline lawyer at our Richmond office. Call today to schedule an appointment and speak with a Law Offices Of SRIS, P.C. Caroline traffic lawyer.
Please understand that prosecutors aggressively prosecute traffic violations. The judges in Caroline General District Court are not at all averse to sentencing people to jail on reckless driving cases and DUI. So if you have received a high speed reckless driving charge or DUI, call our office immediately to secure skilled County traffic lawyer representation. Call today 888-437-7747.
If you have been charged with a traffic ticket in Caroline, Virginia, call the Law Offices of SRIS, P.C. for help. We are your Caroline traffic ticket lawyer in Virginia, Caroline traffic defense lawyer in Virginia, Caroline reckless driving lawyer in Virginia, DUI lawyer in Virginia, traffic ticket defense lawyer in Virginia, uniform summons lawyer in Virginia, reckless driving lawyer in Virginia.
Caroline General District Court
15th Judicial District of Virginia
Ms Terry M. Southworth
Phone: (804) 633-5720
Fax: (804) 633-3033
Clerk's Office Hours
8:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Caroline General District Court
PO Box 511
Bowling Green, VA 22427-0511
4th Mon., 8:30 a.m.
Wed. & Fri., 8:30 a.m.
1st & 3rd Mon., 9:00 a.m.
Fri., 1:00 p.m.
Wed., 9:00 a.m. & 10:00 a.m.
Fri., 9:00 a.m.
Fri., 10:00 a.m.
9:00 a.m.: VASAP Violations
10:00 a.m.: Animal Control Violations
11:00 a.m.: Citizen Complaints
Caroline General District Court
First continuance granted by Clerk with consent of all parties; criminal with consent of Commonwealth’s Attorney; subsequent continuances granted by Judge on motion. C