Traffic Lawyer Culpeper Virginia
Reckless driving is one of the most common charges placed on drivers in Virginia. But unlike other states that treat reckless driving as an ordinary traffic violation, Virginia treats this moving offense as a serious offense and punishes the act as a Class 1 misdemeanor.
In Culpeper County VA, reckless driving is like other serious offenses such as arson and assault. This implies, if one is charged with reckless driving, he/she cannot escape the legal consequences by merely paying the ticket. Any individual charged with reckless driving needs to approach a Culpeper Virginia traffic lawyer who has ample experience in the field. Moving offenses of this nature should be efficiently argued in court. Many people are convicted of reckless driving and suffer high fines, license suspension and sentenced to jail on charges that a skilled Culpeper traffic lawyer could successfully contest. Indeed, some of these convicted individuals may be innocent of the charge.
More often, persons charged with a crime overlook the consequences of being convicted. It is important for people convicted of reckless driving to understand the collateral consequences of reckless driving. A conviction for this offense may have a long term consequence of affecting one’s employment prospects.
Penalties for Reckless Driving in Culpeper County VA
§ 46.2-868. Reckless driving; penalties.
- Every person convicted of reckless driving under the provisions of this article shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
- Every person convicted of reckless driving under the provisions of this article who, when he committed the offense, (i) was driving without a valid operator’s license due to a suspension or revocation for a moving violation and, (ii) as the sole and proximate result of his reckless driving, caused the death of another, is guilty of a Class 6 felony.
Punishment for a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Culpeper County VA
According to § 18.2-11. Punishment for conviction of a misdemeanor.
The authorized punishments for conviction of a misdemeanor are:
(a) For Class 1 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.
(b) For Class 2 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than six months and a fine of not more than $1,000, either or both.
(c) For Class 3 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $500.
(d) For Class 4 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $250.
Now that you are aware how important it is to engage an attorney to deal with your reckless driving case, get in touch with a reputable and skilled Culpeper Virginia traffic law firm and discuss your case. Our traffic lawyers who defend Culpeper County traffic tickets will aggressively defend you and do their best to help you avoid or minimize your traffic ticket.
What Are Some Of The Commonly Charged Traffic Tickets in Culpeper County Virginia?
Traffic tickets are also known as traffic infractions in Culpeper County, Virginia. They may be considered moving violations, which usually result in demerit points against your license, or non-moving violations, which typically result in fines only. Either way, the conviction is likely to be entered on your driving record. When you get a traffic ticket in Culpeper County, Virginia, the officer typically gives you a Virginia Uniform Summons. When you get a simple traffic infraction, you can usually prepay the fines and you do not have to go to Culpeper County traffic court.
VERY IMPORTANT NOTE: If you prepay a Culpeper County traffic ticket, this will have the effect of a guilty plea and a conviction will be recorded against you.
On a Virginia driving record, demerit points will remain for two years and the record of the offense will stay on your driving record anywhere from 3 to 11 years, depending on the offense. In addition, your driver’s license could get suspended if you pay your fines late or accumulate too many demerit points.
Common traffic infractions include:
- Driving with a taillight or headlight that does not work
- Failing to come to a complete stop at a red light before turning right
- Running a red light
- Driving too close to a vehicle
- Improper turn
- Improper passing
- Failing to yield
- Failing to obey a highway sign or lane marking
- Making an illegal U-turn
Virginia Misdemeanor Traffic Offenses
Some traffic tickets are considered misdemeanors in Culpeper County, Virginia. If you are convicted, you face more serious penalties, will have a permanent criminal record, and be assessed demerit points on your driver’s record.
Some common traffic violations that fall into this category include:
- Driving on a suspended license. This is a Class 1 misdemeanor—the most serious in Virginia. The penalties include up to one year in jail, fines of up to $2,500, and a suspension of your license for 90 days. Speak to a Culpeper Driving On A Suspended License Traffic Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
- Driving on a revoked license. This is also a Class 1 misdemeanor with similar sentences to driving on a suspended license. However, a third offense would be a Class 6 felony. In addition, your driver’s license would be revoked—more serious than having it suspended with additional requirements for it to be reinstated. Speak to a Culpeper Driving On A Revoked License Traffic Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
- Driving Without A License. Virginia law exempts certain people. If you are a non-resident, a new Virginia resident, a military service member or their spouse, you may have additional technical legal defenses. Speak to a Culpeper Driving Without A License Traffic Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
If you’ve been charged with driving without a license in Virginia, don’t make the common mistake of trying to go it alone without an experienced Culpeper Virginia traffic lawyer. You need an aggressive and knowledgeable Culpeper Virginia traffic attorney who will fight for your rights and, where appropriate, negotiate a favorable outcome. Let us be your legal advocate. Speak to a Culpeper Traffic Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
§ 46.2-300. Driving without license prohibited
No person, except those expressly exempted in §§ 46.2-303 through 46.2-308, shall drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver’s license, as provided in this article, satisfactorily passed the examination required by § 46.2-325, and obtained a driver’s license, nor unless the license is valid.
A violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Upon conviction under this section, the court may suspend the person’s privilege to drive for a period not to exceed 90 days.
DUI. A first offense DUI charge is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The penalties can include a fine of between $250 and $2,500, jail sentence of up to one year, revocation of your license for one year, and more. Speak to a Culpeper DUI Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
Insurance and Security Clearance Ramifications
In addition to the actual penalties imposed by the Culpeper County court, you should consider the effect a conviction will have on your motor vehicle insurance rates. Insurance companies use their own point system and may raise your rates or refuse to renew your policy, even for a conviction for a single offense. If an insurance company raises your rates, this will usually be for a term of three years. These costs add up.
If you possess a government security clearance, this may also be affected by a conviction for a Culpeper motor vehicle related charge, especially for offenses involving drugs or alcohol, or those for which you could be jailed.
Do not take a Culpeper County Traffic Ticket lighty. Speak to a Culpeper County Traffic Lawyer regarding your traffic ticket. Call 888-437-7747.
Call us today for help with your Culpeper County traffic ticket in Virginia. We are your Culpeper County traffic ticket lawyer in Virginia, Culpeper County Virginia uniform summon lawyer in Virginia, Culpeper County traffic defense lawyer in Virginia. We will also defend you against any type of traffic ticket in Orange County, Virginia. We are your Orange County traffic ticket lawyer in Virginia, Orange County Virginia uniform summon lawyer in Virginia, Orange County traffic defense lawyer in Virginia
Culpeper General District Court
16th Judicial District of Virginia
Ms Cheryl Lee Phillips
Phone: (540) 727-3417
Clerk’s Office Hours
8:00 AM – 4:00 PM
135 West Cameron Street
Culpeper, VA 22701
Motions must be submitted at least 24 hours prior to the court date.
Culpeper Court Schedule
Mon. & Wed., 8:30 a.m.
Traffic & Criminal
Mon. & Wed., 9:30 a.m.
Mon. & Wed., 1:30 p.m.
Preliminary Hearings are the 1st Wednesday all day
and the 4th Wednesday at 1:30 p.m. only
town and Local officers are 9;30 a.m., 10:00 a.m. and 10:30 a.m.
Culpeper General District Court
First time continuance request for pre-payable traffic infractions are granted by the Culpeper Clerk’s office. Continuance request for misdemeanors and felonies are granted by the judge on a motion. Notice to the Culpeper Commonwealth’s attorney office is required for misdemeanor and felony requests.