Traffic Lawyer Henrico VA | Henrico Traffic Lawyer | Henrico VA Traffic Lawyer
- Posted by admin
- 0 Comment(s)
Traffic Lawyer Henrico County VA
Reckless driving is one of the most common charges placed on drivers in Virginia. But unlike other states that treat reckless driving as an ordinary traffic violation, Virginia treats reckless driving as a serious offense and punishes the act as a Class 1 misdemeanor.
In Henrico County VA, reckless driving is like other serious offenses such as arson and assault. This implies, if one is charged with reckless driving, he/she cannot escape the legal consequences by merely paying the ticket. Any individual charged with reckless driving needs to approach a Henrico traffic a lawyer who has ample experience in the field. Reckless driving charges should be efficiently argued in court. Many people are convicted of reckless driving and suffer high fines, license suspension and sentenced to jail on charges that a skilled Henrico reckless driving lawyer could successfully contest. Indeed, some of these convicted individuals may be innocent of the charge.
More often, persons charged with reckless driving overlook the consequences of being convicted. It is important for people convicted of reckless driving to understand the collateral consequences of reckless driving. A reckless driving conviction may have a long term consequence of affecting one’s employment prospects.
Got a Reckless Driving Ticket in Henrico County, VA?
Reckless driving speeding ticket in Henrico County, VA, is a serious offense and you cannot take care of it yourself. You will need the services of an experienced Henrico traffic lawyer dealing with traffic violation cases. Not all traffic ticket case are the same so it is impossible to make out what the outcome will be. So, get in touch with a Henrico traffic attorney right away!
Penalties for Reckless Driving in Henrico County, Virginia
- Reckless Driving in Virginia is considered a Class One Misdemeanor.
- Class One Misdemeanor is punishable by up to 12 months in jail.
- Reckless Driving can be fined up to $2500. (§ 18.2-11. Punishment for conviction of misdemeanor)
- Reckless Driving can result in a 6 month suspension of your Driver’s License.
- Reckless Driving convictions will add 6 DMV demerit points to your license.
Punishment for a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia
§ 18.2-11. Punishment for conviction of misdemeanor.
The authorized punishments for conviction of a misdemeanor are:
(a) For Class 1 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.
(b) For Class 2 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than six months and a fine of not more than $1,000, either or both.
(c) For Class 3 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $500.
(d) For Class 4 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $250.
For a misdemeanor offense prohibiting proximity to children as described in subsection A of § 18.2-370.2, the sentencing court is authorized to impose the punishment set forth in subsection B of that section in addition to any other penalty provided by law.
1975, cc. 14, 15; 1990, c. 788; 2000, c. 770.
The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.
What Are Some Of The Commonly Charged Traffic Tickets in Henrico Virginia?
Traffic tickets are also known as traffic infractions or moving violations in Henrico, Virginia. When you get a traffic ticket in Henrico County, Virginia, the officer typically gives you a Virginia Uniform Summons. The penalties are often demerit points on your driving record and fines. When you get a traffic infraction, you can usually prepay the fines and you do not have to go to Henrico traffic court.
VERY IMPORTANT NOTE: Prepaying a fine will have the effect of a guilty plea and a conviction will be recorded against you.
On a Virginia DMV record, demerit points will remain for two years and the record of the offense will stay on your driving record anywhere from 3 to 11 years, depending on the offense. In addition, your driver’s license could get suspended if you pay your fines late or accumulate too many demerit points. Common Henrico traffic infractions include:
- Operating a vehicle with a taillight or headlight that does not work
- Failing to come to a complete stop at a red light before turning right
- Running a red light
- Operating a vehicle too close to another vehicle
- Improper turn
- Improper passing
- Failing to yield
- Failing to obey a highway sign or lane marking
- Making an illegal U-turn
Virginia Misdemeanor Traffic Offenses
Some traffic charges are considered misdemeanors in Virginia. If you are convicted, you face more serious penalties, will have a permanent criminal record, and be assessed demerit points on your driver’s record. Some common Henrico traffic violations that fall into this category include:
- Driving on a suspended license. This is a Class 1 misdemeanor—the most serious in Virginia. The penalties include up to one year in jail, fines of up to $2,500, and a suspension of your license for 90 days. Call and speak today to a Henrico Traffic Lawyer – 888-437-7747
- Driving on a revoked license. This is also a Class 1 misdemeanor with similar sentences to driving on a suspended license. However, a third offense would be a Class 6 felony. In addition, your driver’s license would be revoked—more serious than having it suspended with additional requirements for it to be reinstated. Call and speak today to a Henrico Traffic Lawyer – 888-437-7747
- Driving Without A License. Virginia law exempts certain people. If you are a nonresident, a new Virginia resident, a military service member or their spouse, you may have additional technical legal defenses. Call and speak today to a Henrico Traffic Lawyer – 888-437-7747
If you’ve been charged with driving without a license in Virginia, don’t make the common mistake of trying to go it alone without an experienced Henrico, Virginia traffic lawyer. You need an aggressive and knowledgeable Henrico traffic attorney who will fight for your rights and, where appropriate, negotiate a favorable outcome. Let us be your legal advocate.
§ 46.2-300. Driving without license prohibited
No person, except those expressly exempted in §§ 46.2-303 through 46.2-308, shall drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver’s license, as provided in this article, satisfactorily passed the examination required by § 46.2-325, and obtained a driver’s license, nor unless the license is valid.
A violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Upon conviction under this section, the court may suspend the person’s privilege to drive for a period not to exceed 90 days.
DUI. A first offense DUI charge is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The penalties can include a fine of between $250 and $2,500, jail sentence of up to one year, revocation of your license for one year, and more. Call and speak today to a Henrico DUI Lawyer – 888-437-7747
Insurance and Security Clearance Ramifications
In addition to the actual penalties imposed by a court, you should consider the effect a conviction will have on your motor vehicle insurance rates. Insurance companies use their own point system and may raise your rates or refuse to renew your policy, even for a conviction for a single offense. If an insurance company raises your rates, this will usually be for a term of three years. These costs add up.
If you possess a government security clearance, this may also be affected by a conviction for a motor vehicle related charge, especially for offenses involving drugs or alcohol, or those for which you could be jailed.
If you have been charged with a Henrico Reckless Driving or Henrico DUI, call our law firm immediately and speak with one of our Henrico Traffic Lawyers today – Call us at 888-437-7747. Our Henrico traffic lawyers excel at defending clients charged with reckless driving, DUI and other traffic offenses.
Because so many people travel through this County, law enforcement is extremely vigilant and target high speed reckless driving, DUI and other traffic offenses. So if you have been charged with a high speed reckless driving offense, DUI or traffic ticket, call and speak to a Law Offices Of SRIS, P.C. Henrico lawyer for real answers and options. 888-437-7747.
If you have received a Henrico traffic ticket and you want to meet with a Hanover traffic lawyer, you can meet with a Henrico traffic lawyer at our Richmond office. Call today to schedule an appointment and speak with a Law Offices Of SRIS, P.C. Henrico traffic lawyer
If you have been charged with a traffic ticket in Henrico, Virginia, call the Law Offices of SRIS, P.C. for help. We are your Henrico traffic ticket lawyer in Virginia, Henrico traffic defense lawyer in Virginia, Henrico reckless driving lawyer in Virginia, Henrico DUI lawyer in Virginia, Henrico traffic ticket defense lawyer in Virginia, uniform summons lawyer in Virginia, reckless driving lawyer in Virginia.
Henrico General District Court
14th Judicial District of Virginia
Ms Linda S. Knight
Phone: (804) 501-4723
Fax: (804) 501-7388
Clerk’s Office Hours
8:00 AM – 4:00 PM
P. O. Box 90775
4301 East Parham Road
Henrico, VA 23273-0775
Mon. – Fri., 9:00 a.m.
Attorney Status Cases
Mon. – Fri., 9:00 a.m.
Fri., 9:00 a.m.
Tues. – Thurs., 9:30 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.
DUID and Stalking Cases
3rd Mon., 11:00 a.m. (If 3rd Mon. is a holiday, then the 4th
Mon. & Fri., 8:30 a.m.
Show Causes & Community Correction Returns
Fri., 9:00 a.m.
Toll Road Docket
1st Fri., 10:00 a.m.
Traffic School Returns
Fri., 9:00 a.m.
Henrico General District Court
Continuances granted by Judge on motion or on agreement of Commonwealth’s Attorney & defendant. C