Hanover General District Court Traffic Lawyer VA Reckless Driving Virginia Uniform Summons

Reckless Driving Lawyer in Hanover County, Virginia

In Virginia, a reckless driving charge is treated as a serious criminal offense and is classified as a Class 1 Misdemeanor. The Hanover County court routinely sentences defendants to jail time for aggravated reckless driving convictions. Whether you are a resident or Virginia or out-of-state driver, if you are caught driving over 80 mph, then you may be charged with reckless driving, not just simple speeding. A reckless driving conviction can have serious consequences, including jail time, loss of license and increased insurance rates. Your motor vehicle insurance may even be cancelled. This is why you will need an experienced Hanover traffic attorney to fight your case. If you have been charged with reckless driving speeding ticket in Hanover County, VA, get in touch with a Hanover traffic attorney to have your legal rights protected. The Hanover traffic attorney should be able to fight to get your traffic ticket reduced or dismissed. Without a skilled Hanover county reckless driving lawyer, you may face unwarranted consequences and adversities which is sure to threaten your reckless driving case. Most Hanover traffic attorneys offer free consultation, so it is best to make use of it to know what exactly your situation is.

Penalties for Reckless Driving in Hanover County, Virginia

§ 46.2-868. Reckless driving; penalties.

  1. Every person convicted of reckless driving under the provisions of this article shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
  2. Every person convicted of reckless driving under the provisions of this article who, when he committed the offense, (i) was driving without a valid operator’s license due to a suspension or revocation for a moving violation and, (ii) as the sole and proximate result of his reckless driving, caused the death of another, is guilty of a Class 6 felony.

Punishment for a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Hanover County, Virginia

According to § 18.2-11. Punishment for conviction of a misdemeanor.

The authorized punishments for conviction of a misdemeanor are:

(a) For Class 1 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.

(b) For Class 2 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than six months and a fine of not more than $1,000, either or both.

(c) For Class 3 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $500.

(d) For Class 4 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $250.

Now that you are aware how important it is to engage an attorney to deal with your reckless driving case, get in touch with the best in the business right now!

What Are Some Of The Commonly Charged Traffic Tickets in Hanover County Virginia?

Traffic tickets are also known as traffic infractions in Hanover, Virginia. They may be considered moving violations, which usually result in demerit points against your license, or non-moving violations, which typically result in fines only. Either way, the conviction is likely to be entered on your driving record. When you get a traffic ticket in Hanover, Virginia, the officer typically gives you a Virginia Uniform Summons. When you get a simple traffic infraction, you can usually prepay the fines and you do not have to go to Hanover traffic court.

VERY IMPORTANT NOTE: Prepaying a traffic ticket has the effect of a guilty plea and will result in a conviction being recorded against you.

On a Virginia driving record, demerit points will remain for two years and the record of the offense will stay on your driving record anywhere from 3 to 11 years, depending on the offense. In addition, your driver’s license could get suspended if you pay your fines late or accumulate too many demerit points. Common Hanover traffic infractions include:

  • Speeding
  • Driving with a taillight or headlight that does not work
  • Failing to come to a complete stop at a red light before turning right
  • Running a red light
  • Driving too close to a vehicle
  • Improper turn
  • Improper passing
  • Failing to yield
  • Failing to obey a highway sign or lane marking
  • Making an illegal U-turn

Virginia Misdemeanor Traffic Offenses

Some traffic tickets are considered misdemeanors in Virginia. If you are convicted, you face more serious penalties, will have a permanent criminal record, and be assessed demerit points on your driver’s record. Some common traffic violations that fall into this category include:

  • Driving on a suspended license. This is a Class 1 misdemeanor—the most serious in Virginia. The penalties include up to one year in jail, fines of up to $2,500, and a suspension of your license for 90 days. Speak to a Hanover Driving On A Suspended License Lawyer today – Call 888-437-7747
  • Driving on a revoked license. This is also a Class 1 misdemeanor with similar sentences to driving on a suspended license. However, a third offense would be a Class 6 felony. In addition, your driver’s license would be revoked—more serious than having it suspended with additional requirements for it to be reinstated. Speak to a Hanover Driving On A Revoked License Lawyer today – Call 888-437-7747
  • Driving Without A License. Virginia law exempts certain people. If you are a non-resident, a new Virginia resident, a military service member or their spouse, you may have additional technical legal defenses. Speak to a Hanover Driving Without A License Lawyer today – Call 888-437-7747

If you’ve been charged with driving without a license in Virginia, don’t make the common mistake of trying to go it alone without an experienced Hanover, Virginia traffic lawyer. You need an aggressive and knowledgeable Hanover traffic attorney who will fight for your rights and, where appropriate, negotiate a favorable outcome. Let us be your legal advocate.

§ 46.2-300. Driving without license prohibited

No person, except those expressly exempted in §§ 46.2-303 through 46.2-308, shall drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver’s license, as provided in this article, satisfactorily passed the examination required by § 46.2-325, and obtained a driver’s license, nor unless the license is valid.

A violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.

Upon conviction under this section, the court may suspend the person’s privilege to drive for a period not to exceed 90 days. This means that even if you have obtained a valid license between the time you were charged and the time your case comes to trial, the court could take away your license again. Our lawyers are keen to prevent this when representing clients so situated.

DUI. A first offense DUI charge is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The penalties can include a fine of between $250 and $2,500, jail sentence of up to one year, revocation of your license for one year, and more. Speak to a Hanover DUI Lawyer today – Call 888-437-7747

Insurance and Security Clearance Ramifications

In addition to the actual penalties imposed by a court, you should consider the effect a conviction will have on your motor vehicle insurance rates. Insurance companies use their own point system and may raise your rates or refuse to renew your policy, even for a conviction for a single offense. If an insurance company raises your rates, this will usually be for a term of three years. These costs add up.

If you possess a government security clearance, this may also be affected by a conviction for a motor vehicle related charge, especially for offenses involving drugs or alcohol, or those for which you could be jailed.

If you have been charged with a Hanover Reckless Driving or Hanover DUI, call our law firm immediately and speak with one of our Hanover Traffic Lawyers today – Call us at 888-437-7747. Our Hanover traffic lawyers excel at defending clients charged with reckless driving, DUI and other traffic offenses.

Because so many people travel to this county to go hiking or visit the wineries, law enforcement is extremely vigilant and target high speed reckless driving, DUI and other traffic offenses. So if you have been charged with a high speed reckless driving offense, DUI or traffic ticket, call and speak to a Law Offices Of SRIS, P.C. Hanover traffic lawyer for real answers and options. 888-437-7747.

If you have received a Hanover traffic ticket and you want to meet with a Hanover traffic lawyer, you can meet with a Hanover traffic lawyer at our Richmond office. Call today to schedule an appointment and speak with a Law Offices Of SRIS, P.C. Hanover traffic lawyer.

If you have been charged with a traffic ticket in Hanover, Virginia, call the Law Offices of SRIS, P.C. for help. We are your Hanover traffic ticket lawyer in Virginia, Hanover traffic defense lawyer in Virginia, Hanover reckless driving lawyer in Virginia, Hanover DUI lawyer in Virginia, Hanover traffic ticket defense lawyer in Virginia, uniform summons lawyer in Virginia, reckless driving lawyer in Virginia.

Hanover General District Court

15th Judicial District of Virginia

Clerk

Ms Cheryl Lynn DeVaughn

Phone/Fax: (Traffic/Criminal)

Phone: (804) 365-6191

Fax: Traffic/Criminal: (804) 365-6290

Clerk's Office Hours

8:00 AM – 4:00 PM 
Payments taken: Mon-Fri 8 AM to 3:45 PM

Address

P. O. Box 176
District Courts Building
7530 County Complex Rd 1st Floor
Hanover, VA 23069-0176

Court Schedule

Mondays

8:15 a.m. – Arraignments
8:30 a.m.- Civil Garnishments (Courtroom 2)
9:00 a.m. – Civil First Returns
10:30 a.m.,1:30 p.m. & 2:30 p.m. – Civil Trials
1st, 2nd, 4th Mondays: 10:30 a.m. – Civil Small Claims
4th Mondays: 8:30 a.m. – Rider Safety Violations

Tuesdays

8:15 a.m. – Arraignments
8:30 a.m. – Motions
9:00 a.m. – Criminal Trials
3rd, 4th, 5th Tuesdays
8:30 a.m. – Civil First Returns
10:30 a.m. – Traffic Violations
1:30 p.m. – Criminal Trials: courtroom 1
1:30 p.m. & 2:30 p.m. – Civil Trials: courtroom 2

Wednesdays

8:15 a.m. – Arraignments
8:30 a.m. – Motions
9:00 a.m. – Criminal Trials
10:30 a.m. – Traffic Violations
1st, 2nd, 3rd Wednesdays: 1:30 p.m. – ASAP Violations
3rd, 4th, 5th Wednesdays 1:30 p.m. – CCP Violations

Thursdays

8:15 a.m. – Arraignments
8:30 a.m. – Motions
9:00 a.m. / 11:00 a.m. – Criminal Trials
9:30 a.m. / 11:30 a.m. – Traffic Violations
1st & 3rd Thursdays: 1:30 p.m. – Animal Control Violations
2nd & 4th Thursdays: 1:30 p.m. –
Game/Forestry/Zoning/Fire/Building Violations

Fridays

8:15 a.m. – Arraignments
8:30 a.m. – Motions
9:00 a.m. – Criminal Trials
10:30 a.m. – Traffic Violations

Hanover County

Hanover General District Court

Our Office

Continuance Policy

Civil cases can only be continued in writing by agreement of all parties. Continuance policy can be found on the Hanover Court Home page Website in document http://www.courts.state.va.us/courts/gd/Hanover/continuancepdf.pdf or on file in the clerk’s office. C