Shenandoah County Court Traffic Lawyer VA Reckless Driving Virginia Uniform Summons

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google

Traffic Lawyer Shenandoah VA

Reckless driving is a criminal offense in Shenandoah County, VA and considered a Class 1 Misdemeanor. The maximum fine for such a conviction is $2,500 with a jail term that may go up to one year and a six month license suspension. This is a serious charge.

As per Va. Code § 46.2-852, the general rule for reckless driving is defined as any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner that shall imperil the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.

The Virginia reckless driving statute is defined under the Regulation of Traffic Code, which is in the statute as § 46.2-862. Exceeding speed limit: A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.

According to Code of Virginia § 46.2-868. Reckless driving; penalties:

  1. Every person convicted of reckless driving under the provisions of this article is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
  2. Every person convicted of reckless driving under the provisions of this article who, when he committed the offense, (i) was driving without a valid operator’s license due to a suspension or revocation for a moving violation and, (ii) as the sole and proximate result of his reckless driving, caused the death of another, is guilty of a Class 6 felony.
  3. The punishment for every person convicted of reckless driving under the provisions of this article who, when he committed the offense, was in violation of § 46.2-1078.1 shall include a mandatory minimum fine of $250.

What are the consequences of a reckless driving conviction?

  • Likely insurance premium hike
  • Security clearance problems
  • Possible loss of job, especially if your job requires you to drive a company vehicle.
  • Possible criminal record
  • Demerit points

Taking into account all these factors, it is best to have a Shenandoah traffic attorney help you out. And make sure that you have an experienced Shenandoah traffic attorney to handle your case.

What Are Some Of The Commonly Charged Traffic Tickets in Shenandoah County Virginia?

Traffic tickets are also known as traffic infractions or moving violations in Shenandoah County, Virginia. When you get a traffic ticket in Shenandoah County, Virginia, the officer typically gives you a Virginia Uniform Summons. The penalties are often demerit points on your DMV record and fines. When you get a traffic infraction, you can usually prepay the fines and you do not have to go to Shenandoah traffic court.

VERY IMPORTANT NOTE: If you prepay the fine, this will have the effect of a guilty plea and a conviction for the alleged offense.

On a Virginia driving record, demerit points will remain for two years and the record of the offense will stay on your DMV record anywhere from 3 to 11 years, depending on the offense. In addition, your driver’s license could get suspended if you pay your fines late or accumulate too many demerit points. Common traffic infractions include:

  • Speeding
  • Operating a motor vehicle with a taillight or headlight that does not work
  • Failing to come to a complete stop at a red light before turning right
  • Running a red light
  • Operating a motor vehicle too close to another vehicle
  • Improper turn
  • Improper passing
  • Failing to yield
  • Failing to obey a highway sign or lane marking
  • Making an illegal U-turn

Virginia Misdemeanor Traffic Offenses

Some traffic tickets are considered misdemeanors in Shenandoah, Virginia. If you are convicted, you face more serious penalties, will have a permanent criminal record, and be assessed demerit points on your driver’s record. Some common traffic violations that fall into this category include:

  • Driving on a suspended license. This is a Class 1 misdemeanor—the most serious in Virginia. The penalties include up to one year in jail, fines of up to $2,500, and a suspension of your license for 90 days. Speak to a Shenandoah traffic lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
  • Driving on a revoked license. This is also a Class 1 misdemeanor with similar sentences to driving on a suspended license. However, a third offense would be a Class 6 felony. In addition, your driver’s license would be revoked—more serious than having it suspended with additional requirements for it to be reinstated. Speak to a Shenandoah traffic lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
  • Driving Without A License. Virginia law exempts certain people. If you are a non-resident, a new Virginia resident, a military service member or their spouse, you may have additional technical legal defenses. Speak to a Shenandoah traffic lawyer – Call 888-437-7747

If you’ve been charged with driving without a license in Virginia, don’t make the common mistake of trying to go it alone without an experienced Shenandoah Virginia traffic lawyer. You need an aggressive and knowledgeable Shenandoah traffic attorney who will fight for your rights and, where appropriate, negotiate a favorable outcome. Let us be your legal advocate.

§ 46.2-300. Driving without license prohibited

No person, except those expressly exempted in §§ 46.2-303 through 46.2-308, shall drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver’s license, as provided in this article, satisfactorily passed the examination required by § 46.2-325, and obtained a driver’s license, nor unless the license is valid.

A violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.

Upon conviction under this section, the court may suspend the person’s privilege to drive for a period not to exceed 90 days.

DUI. A first offense DUI charge is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The penalties can include a fine of between $250 and $2,500, jail sentence of up to one year, revocation of your license for one year, and more. Speak to a Shenandoah DUI lawyer – Call 888-437-7747

Because so many people travel through Shenandoah County, law enforcement is extremely vigilant and target high speed reckless driving, DUI and other moving violations offenses. So if you have been charged with a Shenandoah high speed reckless driving offense, Shenandoah DUI or Shenandoah moving violation citation, call and speak to a Law Offices Of SRIS, P.C. Shenandoah traffic lawyer for real answers and options. 888-437-7747.

If you have received a traffic citation and you want to meet with a traffic lawyer, you can meet with a Shenandoah traffic lawyer at our Fairfax office. Call today to schedule an appointment and speak with a Law Offices Of SRIS, P.C. Shenandoah traffic lawyer.

Please understand that prosecutors aggressively prosecute traffic violations. The judges in General District Court are not at all averse to sentencing people to jail on reckless driving cases and DUI. So if you have received a high speed reckless driving charge in Shenandoah County or a DUI in Shenandoah County, call our office immediately to secure skilled Shenandoah traffic lawyer representation. Call today 888-437-7747.

If you have been charged with a traffic ticket in Shenandoah, Virginia, call the Law Offices of SRIS, P.C. for help. We are your Shenandoah traffic ticket lawyer in Virginia, Shenandoah traffic defense lawyer in Virginia, Shenandoah reckless driving lawyer in Virginia, Shenandoah DUI lawyer in Virginia, traffic ticket defense lawyer in Virginia, uniform summons lawyer in Virginia, reckless driving defense lawyer in Virginia

Shenandoah General District Court

26th Judicial District of Virginia

Clerk

Ms Tamara L. Heishman

Phone/Fax

Phone: (540) 459-6130
Fax: (540) 459-7279

Clerk's Office Hours

8:00 AM – 4:00 PM

Shenandoah County

Address

215 Mill Road
Suite 128
Woodstock, VA 22664-1409

Court Schedule

Traffic/Criminal – Towns

1st & 3rd Monday (Town of Woodstock)

9:00 a.m., Returns
10:00 a.m., Trials

2nd & 4th Monday (Town of Strasburg)

9:00 a.m., Returns
10:00 a.m., Trials

1st Friday (Town of New Market)

9:00 a.m., Returns
9:30 a.m., Trials
(Town of Mt. Jackson)
2:00 p.m., Returns
2:30 p.m., Trials

Traffic/Criminal – Virginia State Police

Tuesdays

9:00 a.m., Returns
Trials/Preliminary Hearings
1:15 p.m., Afternoon docket begins

Traffic/Criminal – Shenandoah Co. Sheriff’s Dept.

2nd, 3rd & 4th Fridays, 9:00 a.m.

**No court on 5th Friday of the month.**

Shenandoah General District Court

Our Office

Continuance Policy

Continuances granted as prescribed by the Rules of the Supreme Court. C