Sexual Battery in Virginia
Sexual battery is the use of force, intimidation, ruse, or threat to sexually abuse a person against his/her will, as stated in the VA code Section 18.2- 67.4.
Sexual Battery (infected) in Virginia
Infected sexual battery is defined as when a person knows that they are infected with syphilis, HIV and/or hepatitis B and makes sexual or anal intercourse and tries to transmit the disease to the other person. However, a class one misdemeanor is convicted to the person that has sexual or anal intercourse, and also has hepatitis B, HIV, and/or syphilis, but without the intent to transmit the disease to the other person. On the other hand, if the offender has intercourse with another with intent to transmit a disease, then he/she will be charged with a felony.
Child sex crimes in Virginia
When a person at 18 years of age or older has any type of sexual intercourse with a child under 13 years of age, then it is considered as rape. Also, a class four felony is inflicted upon a person that carnally knows a child is within the ages of 13 and 15 and yet engages in sexual activity with him/her, without the use of force.
Class Six Felony
The above-mentioned however becomes a class six felony in situations where, without using force, a 13-year-old child or older, however under the age of 15, consents to the sexual intercourse. Also, the person accused at hand is a minor as well and the child subject to rape is three years or more the accused junior.
However, a class four misdemeanor shall be convicted on the accused junior if the consenting child is less than three years from the accused junior.
Solicitation or Prostitution
Prostitution and solicitation are considered to fall under the same statute in Virginia and the offender will be served with a class one misdemeanor.
Sexual Battery (on a minor)
Aggravated sexual battery on a minor: Regardless if force was sexually used to a child under the age of 13 and/or if the child was between the ages of 13 and 15 and force was used, then it is considered to be aggravated sexual battery on a minor. The offender of this case could go to jail for a time of one to 20 years.
Additionally, a class one misdemeanor will be convicted upon the offender if he/she has sexual intercourse with a child that is between the ages of 13 and 15. It is also considered a class one misdemeanor if the has sexual intercourse with a minor between the ages of 15 and 18.
Taking Indecent Liberties with a Child
This is considered a class five felony and it involves the offender being 18 years of age or older who intentionally exposes his/her own genitals to the minor and/or lets the minor expose his/her genitals to him/her, lets or makes the child touch or fondle his/her own sexual genitals and/or feels the sexual genitals of the minor, and/or performs sexual intercourse with the child.
If you need a Virginia Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer to help you with your Sex Crimes Defense case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys can help you.