Car Accident Laws In Virginia
- A driver must obey any traffic control devices applicable to the driver unless directed by a traffic or police officer.
- Drivers must drive in the right lane of roadways unless it is impracticable to travel on the right side of the highway and except when overtaking and passing another vehicle.
- The driver of an overtaken vehicle must give way to the overtaking vehicle on audible signal and must not increase the speed of their vehicle until completely passed by the overtaking vehicle.
- Drivers must not drive while texting or using a handheld mobile electronic device, except for the sole purpose of calling for emergency services.
- A driver involved in an accident resulting in injury or death to any person must report his name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number to the State Police or local law-enforcement agency, to the person struck and injured, to the driver or another occupant of the vehicle collided with, or to the owner of the damaged property.
- A driver involved in an accident resulting in damage to property must report their name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number to the State Police or local law-enforcement agency, to the driver or another occupant of the vehicle collided with, or to the owner of the damaged property.
- A driver involved in an accident resulting in injury, death, or any property damage must report the accident to the State Police or local law-enforcement agency within 24 hours of the accident.
- A driver must not drive after drinking an alcoholic beverage or consuming an intoxicant in an amount which renders the driver incapable of driving safely along roadways.
- In Virginia, a driver is guilty of the offense of Operating a Vehicle Under the Influence of an Intoxicant if the driver has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 or higher.
- In almost every Virginia car accident scenario, insurance coverage is sure to play a key role, so it’s important to understand the state’s liability auto insurance requirements and other coverage rules that could affect your car accident claim.
- The State of Virginia makes no reference to any form of Dram Shop Law in its legislation. Dram Shop Law refers to the liability of private social hosts, bars, hotels nightclubs and other commercial establishments who serve alcohol to patrons or to minors for injuries intoxicated patrons or minors cause to third parties such as in car accidents.
- In Virginia, the law gives car owners the option of purchasing no-fault car insurance. No-fault insurance allows a person, who is injured in a car accident or whose property is damaged, to file a claim with their own car insurance company.
- West Virginia has set amounts for minimum liability coverage that each driver needs to have. Failure to produce proof of insurance could have penalties of license suspension and paying fines :
- Property Damage: $10,000
- Bodily Injury to a Single Person: $20,000
- All Injuries: $40,000
If you need a Virginia Car Accident Lawyer to help you with your Car Accident case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Car Accident Attorneys can help you. C