Virginia Child Abuse
Child abuse is defined as the maltreatment of a minor. This could be done physically, sexually, psychologically or by neglecting a minor. Virginia’s law states that juvenile abuse is a serious crime that is recognized as a felony and punished accordingly. Juvenile maltreatment may come from the neglect of a minor from a parent, guardian, etc. For a juvenile maltreatment case to occur, a serious injury must happen.
Some of these include:
- Broken Bones;
- Life-threatening internal injuries; and
- Permanent injury to limbs which will not function properly after the incident.
Virginia Law states that for a case to be seen as a juvenile maltreatment crime, certain conditions must be present. These conditions are:
- The one that committed the crime is the parent, guardian or someone who was assigned to take care of the minor;
- The offender intended to abuse the minor; and
- The minor had an injury due to the abuse and mistreatment of the parent, guardian, etc.
Juvenile maltreatment is recognized as a felony in all cases. General juvenile mistreatment is wrongdoing that is taken as a class four felony. This implies that the punishment for child abuse is a period in jail which ranges from two to ten years and a fine which may go up to yet not exceed $100,000. The case is different when the maltreatment is the disregarding or neglecting of a child. Child maltreatment in the form of disregarding a child is perceived as a lawful felony of class six. This implies that the discipline for child abuse in the form of neglecting a minor is imprisonment for a period that ranges somewhere in the range of one and five years. Now and again, the court may choose to reduce the punishment to the felony with a similar discipline given to class one or class A misdemeanor violation. This means that the punishment might be a period in prison for a maximum of one year as well as an expense that may reach however not go over $2500.
Virginia law states that there are certain professionals that must report any suspicion on someone that is abusing a child in any way possible.
These professionals include yet are not limited to the following:
- Social workers;
- Police officers;
- Counselors; and
Virginia law also states that there are severe punishments to people older than 14 years old and intentional false report child abuse. This kind of crime is known as a misdemeanor of class one or class A. If the crime is repeated, the crime will be recognized as a class six felony.
Virginia child abuse laws recognize child abuse as a serious crime. This serious crime is recognized as a felony of class four. This implies that it is punished by two to ten years of imprisonment and/or a fine that may go up to but not exceed $100,000. Child abuse in the form of child neglect is taken as a felony of class six and punished accordingly to the class.
If you need a Virginia Child Abuse Lawyer to help you with your Child Abuse case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Child Abuse Attorneys can help you.
We are your child abuse laws lawyers in Fairfax, Virginia, juvenile laws lawyer in Fairfax City, Virginia, juvenile laws lawyer in Loudoun, Virginia, juvenile laws lawyers in Leesburg, Virginia, juvenile laws lawyers in Prince William County, Virginia, juvenile laws lawyers in Arlington, Virginia, juvenile laws lawyers in Alexandria, Virginia, and child abuse laws lawyers in Falls Church, VA. C