If you have been charged with a Virginia drug possession charge of controlled substances such as Marijuana or Heroin, you need to know more about Virginia drug possession laws.
You should be aware that the drug laws are strict in Virginia but you probably have no idea as to how strict the laws are.
Even a Virginia possession of marijuana charge is punishable with one year imprisonment if you are convicted for the second time. For other drugs like heroin and cocaine, the state imposes even harsher penalties.
The drug laws in Virginia are different from the laws in states like California.
In California, you may be allowed to possess very small quantities of marijuana but in Virginia, the law is extremely strict and prohibits any type of possession of a controlled substance. For understanding the charges and penalties involved in drug possession cases, you should know about Scheduled substances.
Controlled Substances such as heroin, cocaine, LSD, and methamphetamine are Schedule I and II substances. The possession of these substances will lead to Class 5 felony which may be charged with one to 10 years imprisonment, or, up to 12 months imprisonment and/or a hefty fine up to $2,500.
Controlled Substances such as codeine and other members of the codeine family are Schedule III substance and the possession of this substance will result in Class 1 misdemeanor and the accused person will be charged up to 12 months in jail time along with a fine of $2,500.
Controlled Substances such as Valium, Xanax, and other sedatives and tranquilizers are Schedule IV substance and the possession of these substances will be considered a Class 2 misdemeanor and the accused may be charged with up to six months imprisonment and a fine of up to $1,000.
Drugs like cough medicine with codeine are Schedule V substances and the possession of these substances is considered a Class 3 misdemeanor and is punishable with a fine of up to $500. Materials that are not drugs in the traditional sense but may be used as drugs, such as inhalants are Schedule VI drugs and their possession is considered a class 4 misdemeanor and is punishable with a fine of up to $250.
Creating a solid defense is the only way you can get an acquittal or lesser charge in a drug case. A skilled Virginia drug attorney can help you with your Virginia drug charge. So the Virginia drug lawyer you choose should be someone with years of experience in handling possession of Marijuana, Heroin, and other drug possession cases like yours.
Hiring a talented Virginia drug attorney is the only option available for you to try and avoid facing the harsh penalties imposed by law for the offense of Virginia drug possession.
Hiring a talented Virginia controlled substances attorney is the only option available for you to try and avoid facing the harsh penalties imposed by law for the offense of Virginia drug possession.
If you need a illicit contraband laws lawyer in Virginia, we are your possession of illicit substances laws lawyer in Fairfax County, possession of illicit contraband lawyer in Fairfax City, and distribution of illicit contraband lawyer in Loudoun County.