Virginia Gun Attorney Gun Penalties Concealed Carry Charge
- Posted by admin
- 0 Comment(s)
Virginia Gun Attorney Laws Penalties Concealed Carry Charge
Citizens of the US can possess firearms to defend themselves and this is one of the fundamental rights as provided in the U.S. Constitution. But there are possibilities that you may face gun-related charges in certain situations. If it happens, then do not hesitate to call an experienced Virginia gun attorney right away.
This will be the first step to try and minimize the charges or have them dismissed. Penalties for a Virginia concealed weapon carry charge and other gun laws can be serious and the prosecution may exaggerate the charges for various reasons including public opinion.
So, if you need a strong defense, hire an experienced Virginia gun attorney near fairfax who has a solid understanding of Virginia gun laws is essential. The Virginia gun attorney, should know how the local court system, must be dedicated to protecting your rights to bear arms.
Gun laws in Virginia have been devised with the intent to protect the public and strike a balance between the provisions of the Constitution and the safety of all Virginia residents.
The Virginia gun lawyer should be able to explain to you about the specific charges levelled against you and the penalties relevant to the details of your case. The defense to your case will be worked out from here.
Virginia Carrying Concealed Weapons Law & Penalties
The Code of Virginia Statute Section 18.2-308 covers gun and concealed carry/concealed weapon law, as well as the penalties for violating these laws. According to this law, it is prohibited to carry concealed weapons or use of such weapons as nunchaku, shuriken (throwing stars), switchblades and similar knives, and collapsible metal batons as personal defense items. While the first violation is prosecuted as a Class 1 misdemeanor; the second and third offenses will attract Class 6 felony and class 5 felony, respectively.
A first violation bears a sentence of not more than 12 months in jail, a $2500 fine, or both as a Class 1 misdemeanor. A Class 6 felony carries a similar penalty, but the prison sentence may go up to five years. A Class 5 felony can carry from one to ten years in prison or, at a jury’s discretion, no more than 12 months in jail and a $2,500 fine.
It is understandable that the penalties for a Virginia gun-related conviction can be very harsh. Therefore, the Virginia gun lawyers work hard on having your charges dropped altogether or have it reduced drastically.
The attorney must be able to plead your case in a court of law or negotiate for a reduced sentence with the prosecution. C