46.2-300 Driving Without License VA Lawyer Penalty Virginia 46.2-300
- Posted by admin
- 0 Comment(s)
In Virginia, operating a vehicle without a license may have different meanings. Driving without a license may mean the following:
- The driver does have a valid license, but it is not in possession with him/her at the moment he/she is stopped by traffic police;
- The driver has never applied for a driving permit or his/her permit has expired; and/or
- The driver’s permit was suspended, canceled, and/or revoked by the respectable authorities in Virginia.
A driver that has a valid license but happens not to have it in his/her possession at the moment he/she is stopped by traffic police may be relieved of any penalties charged against him/her in case he/she manages to prove that they do possess a valid operating vehicle permit and have possessed it when the stop was made by the traffic police. In this case, the driver may only be subject to pay a fine.
In accordance with the laws of Virginia, no person is allowed to drive on a highway prior to him/her obtaining a driver’s permit that is valid and obtained through the examination required by the state of Virginia. However, there are always a few exceptions.
Driving on a highway in Virginia without a valid driving license as a first offense is regarded as a class two misdemeanour that is punishable by jail for a term that may go up to six months as well as with a $1,000 maximum fine. Even though this is what the law provides, judges do not usually impose a penalty of jail time on individuals operating a vehicle without a permit in Virginia as a first time offense.
Driving on a highway in Virginia without a license as a second offense is regarded as a class one misdemeanour that is punishable by jail for a term that may go up to one year as well as with a $2,500 maximum fine.
Furthermore, in case a driver’s permit was suspended, canceled, and/or revoked by the respectable authorities in Virginia, for a first-time offender, he/she may be subject to pay a maximum fine amounting to $2,500.
In regard to both situations above, the responsible court may suspend the person’s privilege to drive for a period not exceeding or up to 90 days.
It must be noted by drivers that realistically, it is not normality that judges impose the maximum punishment on the drivers driving without a license.
There are some exceptions to the penalties related to driving without a license in Virginia. Exceptions to that include, but are not limited to the following:
- Persons operating road rollers or any other relevant road machinery that is controlled as well as supervised by the Department of Transportation as long as the purpose at hand is construction or maintenance;
- Persons operating any farm machinery such as farm tractors are exempt from obtaining a driver’s license; and
- Persons working in the armed services of the United States of America are exempt from licensure when operating an official motor vehicle.
If you need a Virginia Driving Without a License Lawyer to help you with your Driving Without a License case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Driving Without a License Attorneys can help you.
We are your 46.2-300 driving without a license lawyer in Fairfax, Virginia, 46.2-300 driving without a license lawyer in Fairfax City, VA, 46.2-300 driving without a license lawyer in Prince William, VA, 46.300 driving without a license lawyer in Loudoun, Virginia, 46.2-300 driving without a license lawyer in Falls Church, VA and 46.2-300 driving without a license lawyer in Alexandria, VA. C