Acquiring a reckless driving charge is a very serious problem for both out-of-state vehicle operators as it is for locals. Both have to go through Virginia’s difficult traffic laws. Likewise to locals, out-of-state drivers need to appear in court for rash operation vehicle charges. If a vehicle operator is charged with reckless driving, the driver will be given a court date at which he/she needs to appear. If they don’t appear, the judge has a couple of options to choose from. They can try them in their absence or they can issue an arrest warrant to try to make the person appear for court. It is best if the vehicle operator shows up to court in the date required rather than risk a potential warrant, however, in many cases appearance can be waived if counsel is retained.
The following are the penalties for a reckless driving charge in the state of Virginia:
If the driver is convicted of reckless driving under VA law, he/she can be sentenced to up to 12 months in jail.
A reckless driving charge in VA can result in a fine of up to $2,500.
The driver can have his/her license suspended for up to six months if he/she is convicted of reckless driving in the State of Virginia.
It must be noted that each state is unique. Some states will not acknowledge the traffic convictions of other states. Some states will not acknowledge the points related to those traffic convictions. Yet most states are part of a mutual reporting compact which demands that charges as severe as reckless driving are reported, this way out-of-state drivers will be met with some impact at home.
Sometimes, reckless riding and the way it’s treated is more serious in Virginia than it will be treated in other states.
If the operator has been charged with reckless riding in Virginia as an out-of-state vehicle operator it is in his/her best interest to contact a VA rash operation vehicle lawyer as soon as possible since the out of state driver is not familiar with the traffic laws of Virginia. An experienced attorney at law will be able to tell the driver the penalties he/she is facing in their home or local state and how this charge impacts their life. Additionally, an attorney at law will be able to help the vehicle operator mount a strong defense to attempt and get his/her charges reduced or removed if possible.
For out-of-state drivers, a charge in Virginia may also affect a driver’s license back home. In some cases, it could mean that the driver’s out-of-state license is suspended or revoked.
Because the violation is a criminal offense and not just a traffic ticket, the vehicle operator will have to appear to face his/her charges. For out-of-state offenders, the operator may be able to waive the appearance, but that may not be his/her best option. The driver’s attorney at law will be able to recommend specifically whether he/she should appear in person or if he/she can waive their appearance.
If you need a Virginia Reckless Driving Lawyer to help you with your Reckless Driving case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Reckless Driving Attorneys can help you. C