Virginia Traffic Laws Virginia Traffic Ticket Lawyers Fairfax
- Posted by admin
- 0 Comment(s)
Traffic tickets in Virginia vary by offense. Tickets do not vary in terms of location and all traffic tickets are required to list the fine amount. Hence, there are variant types of tickets given in accordance to the level of violation that has been induced upon traffic law in Virginia.
Upon obtaining a traffic ticket, the traffic law violator’s first response is to either plead guilty or not guilty. Pleading guilty would require him/her paying the fine fee enlisted on his/her ticket.
There are two main ways to pay a traffic ticket; via mail or online.
A traffic law violator has to understand that by obtaining a guilty conviction, he/she would face demerit points that would be added to his/her Virginia driving record.
However, pleading not guilty would not require the motor vehicle operator to pay the fee of the ticket. Yet, it is crucial to understand that if a violator is to “fight” his/her ticket and lose, the ticket fee would have to be paid alongside all the additional fees that were spent on the hired attorney at law.
Note that in case a traffic law violator does not manage to pay the fees of his/her ticket in less than 30 days from the moment of obtaining the citation in Virginia, he/she would be charged with additional late fees. The deadlines, amounts, and exact penalties are written or enlisted on the citation itself.
Be noted that upon committing a traffic offense, the court responsible would notify the Driver Improvement Program for Virginia resident to add demerit points to the motor vehicle operator’s record, issue an order to suspend his/her license, issue an order to complete a driver improvement clinic, notify the auto insurance company, and/or share the conviction to the driving record of the motor vehicle operator.
In addition, the traffic law offenses are grouped into two categories in Virginia. Those are comprised of major and serious offenses.
Major offenses and violations include, but are not limited to, driving a vehicle with a 0.08% or higher blood alcohol count, refusal in submitting to a sobriety test, leaving an accident scene, committing a felony with a vehicle, causing of a fatality by car, and driving a motor vehicle with a 0.04% blood alcohol count. Note that such violations and/or offenses result in the loss of the commercial driver’s license for a period of one year in case of conviction.
Furthermore, serious offenses and violations include, but are not limited to, reckless driving, close pursuit to a vehicle, driving a commercial motor vehicle without holding a commercial driver’s license, changing lanes improperly, the violation of a state law of texting while driving, and speeding over 15 miles per hour over the given speed limit in the area at hand.
Furthermore, motor vehicle operators are required to acknowledge that the disqualifications of their commercial driver’s license for a period of 180 days would occur in cases of the violation of a vehicle or a driver “out of service” order in the process of the transportation of nonhazardous materials and in cases of the violation of a vehicle or a driver “out of service” order in the process of the transportation of hazardous materials that are required to be placarded. This is also possible when driving a vehicle with a design to transport more or equal to 16 passengers.
Finally, Virginia keeps a closer eye towards motor vehicle operators that are under the age of 18 and the State requires, that in those cases, the traffic law violator completes a driver safety clinic in case of being convicted of a demerit point violation.
If you need a Virginia Traffic Ticket Lawyer to help you with your Traffic Ticket case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Traffic Ticket Attorneys can help you.