Underage Drinking Virginia Contributing Delinquency Minor Lawyer VA Fairfax

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google

The first thing that you need to know about underage drinking in Virginia is that it is illegal for a person below 21 years of age to drink alcohol. It is also illegal to purchase and possess alcohol if you are under the age of 21 years in Virginia. If convicted for this offense, the maximum penalties can include one year in jail, $2,500 in fine, and driver’s license suspension for one year.

What happens if you are charged with providing alcohol to minors in Virginia?

It is illegal for an adult to provide a minor with alcohol in Virginia. Providing alcohol to a minor can result in being charged with contirbuting to the delinquency of a minor in VA. You can also be charged with contributing to the delinquency of a minor in VA if you give or sell alcohol to a minor. This Virginia contributing to the delinquency of a minor law applies equally to an adult who helps an underage minor circumvent the law and obtain alcohol illegally, even indirectly.

In such cases, the adult can face penalties of the suspension of mandatory driver’s license for a maximum period of one year and fine amounting to $2,500 with a possibility to being jailed up to 12 months.

Zero Tolerance Policy in Virginia.

More specific penalties apply if a person under the age of 21 consumes alcohol illegally and drives in Virginia. While the state-wide limit for blood-alcohol concentration is 0.08, the limit for people under 21 years of age is a BAC of 0.02.

This means DUI penalties will apply if an underage driver registers a BAC of 0.02 to 0.08. In such cases, the underage driver will face administrative license suspension (ALS). A conviction for underage DUI can result in fine amounting up to $500, suspension of driver’s license for one year, or 50 hours of community service. Underage drinking is not tolerated in VA. Speak to a lawyer today if you have been charged with underage drinking in VA.

Standard Penalties for DUI in Virginia

Regular DUI penalties apply if an underage driver registers a BAC above 0.08. In such cases, the underage driver is charged in the same manner as any adult who commits a DUI.

Need Help?

Law enforcement authorities will not take possession of and underage drinking of alcohol in Virginia lightly.

It is strongly believed that underage drinking is both a health and safety hazard to the state’s youth; therefore, strict penalties are imposed for underage drinking and possession of alcohol.

If you or someone you know is facing charges for underage drinking or DUI, it is important that you retain the services of an experienced underage drinking Virginia attorney. Working out the best possible defenses with your Virginia underage drinking attorney is critical so that you can avoid the harsh consequences of Virginia underage drinking.

Additionally, if you have been charged with a Virginia contributing to the delinquency of a minor charge, you need to immediately contact a skilled Virginia contributing to the delinquency of a minor lawyer and discuss your case with him. Understand that there are defenses to contributing to the delinquency of a minor in VA.

We are your Fairfax contributing to the delinquency of a minor lawyer, Alexandria contributing to the delinquency of a minor lawyer, Prince William contributing to the delinquency of a minor lawyer, Loudoun contributing to the delinquency of a minor lawyer lawyer, Fairfax underage drinking lawyer in Virginia, Arlington contributing to the delinquency of a minor lawyer, Hanover contributing to the delinquency of a minor lawyer, Henrico contributing to the delinquency of a minor lawyer, Stafford contributing to the delinquency of a juvenile lawyer, Fairfax City underage drinking lawyer in Virginia, Spotsylvania contributing to the delinquency of a juvenile lawyer, Fredericksburg contributing to the delinquency of a juvenile lawyer and Loudoun underage drinking lawyer in Virginia. B