When driving above the speed limit in Virginia, it is always a question of whether a driver will be charged with a mere speeding ticket or a reckless driving ticket.
A Virginia Uniform Summons ticket is a ticket issued by an officer or a law enforcement officer and handed over to the driver for committing an offense of either speeding or reckless driving.
Upon receiving the Virginia Uniform Summons ticket, the driver is advised to examine it section by section and pay attention to the section that states “Charge”. In that section, it should refer to the Virginia Code Section 46.2–862 which states that a driver shall be deemed as guilty of reckless driving in case he/she while driving a motor vehicle on a highway of Commonwealth is driving with an additional speed of 20 miles per hour over the speed limit or in case he/she while driving a motor vehicle on a highway of Commonwealth with a speed that is over 80 miles per hour regardless of the speed limit in that area. Furthermore, the law enforcement officer should either write, in words, “Reckless Driving” or “R/D speed”. The law enforcement officer has a choice of whether to write the exact speed at which the driver was driving at.
In addition, when it comes to the Virginia uniform summons reckless driving ticket, the instructions of how to prepay the fine will be crossed out or struck by the law enforcement officer. This means that the ticket may not be prepaid and that a court appearance is necessary. Hence, the Virginia uniform summons reckless driving ticket is highly different from a regular speeding ticket as it does not allow the driver to prepay his/her fine or ticket.
Furthermore, the law enforcement officer in cases of a driver obtaining a Virginia uniform summons reckless driving ticket will state either the date for the driver’s court first appearance or the trial date. This is usually considered to be one of the hardest factors of understanding when it comes to citizens that are not experienced in such matters. As a result, the law enforcement officer, most of the time, will state the purpose of the date and its meaning to the driver he/she is issuing the uniform summons reckless driving ticket to. However, if the driver still does not know the purpose of the date and its meaning, he/she is to examine the date written carefully. If the date is set only one or two weeks from the date of giving the ticket, then the date is most probably referring to the first appearance rather than trial date. However, in case the date is set out a month or more from the date of giving the ticket, then the date is most probably referring to a trial date.
In both cases, drivers are highly advised to contact a traffic attorney at law or the clerk’s office in the county he/she has committed the offense of reckless driving. This for obtaining accurate information on the date given on the uniform summons reckless driving.
If you need a Virginia Uniform Summons Lawyer to help you with your Uniform Summons case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Uniform Summons Attorneys can help you.