The state of Virginia takes weapon charges very seriously and has severe penalties for them. Most weapon offenses in Virginia are felonies and many weapon charges have compulsory minimum penalties that run consecutively with any other charges. There are a number of crimes in Virginia relating to the possession, use, sale, transfer, and registration of many different weapons.
The laws relating to Virginia’s weapons charges are very complex and covered by multiple criminal codes. Since these sorts of charges are very complex, it is to a person’s best interest to hire a professional Virginia gun attorney. Certain people are not allowed to possess, purchase, or transfer firearms and other weapons in Virginia.
Concealed Carry Permits
In Virginia, adults can legally carry concealed firearms if they have a concealed handgun license. To acquire such license applicants must:
- Be not less than 21 years old;
- Live in Virginia;
- Allow a criminal record check and fingerprinting to been taken;
- Finish a handgun safety training course;
- Submit the permit application to the city law enforcement agency.
There are some people that are not allowed to have a license even if they meet all necessary requirements. Those people include but are not limited to anyone subjected to a restraining order and fugitives.
The punishments for violating weapons law in the state of Virginia can include fines, probation, jail time, and other punishments. The specific punishments involved will differ from case to case depending on the situations.
If a person is carrying a concealed weapon in Virginia, the charges are severe. It is penalized with up to one year in jail, a fine that reaches $2,500, or both. A second offense is a class six felony and it is punished with up to five years in prison with a fine that does not exceed $2,500. If it is the third offense then it is a class five felony. This can be punished with up to ten years in prison with a fine that does not exceed $2,500.
Weapons Offense Consequences
If a person has a weapon offense conviction then he/she is not allowed to get a permit which allows him/her to carry a concealed weapon. Depending on the charge, the person will be convicted a felon. This will affect a person’s constitutional right and forever prohibits him/her to possess a firearm.
Public Firearm Discharge
In Virginia, the law prohibits willfully discharging weapons in public areas, such as a street in any town or city, or in a public place of gathering. If this unlawful action does not result in injury to another person, the penalty is a class one misdemeanor with up to $2,500 in fines and a maximum of one year in jail. If these unlawful actions do result in another person’s injury, the penalty is a class six felony. The penalties differ in some areas. If in a school or 1,000 feet of school grounds, for example, the penalty for this act is a class four felony.
If you need a Virginia Weapons Offense Lawyer to help you with your Weapons Offense case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Weapons Offense Attorneys can help you. C