DWI Virginia Lawyer Penalties Fairfax Arlington
- Posted by admin
- 0 Comment(s)
Penalties for DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) violators at the age of 21 or older in Virginia
- When a DWI violator makes his first offence then he/she would be possibly asked to do the VASAP (Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program) and/or to use the ignition interlock device. Additionally, a seven day suspension would be given to their administrative license and their driver’s license could be restricted. A fine of $250 to $300 will have to be paid and their license would be revoked for a year. Moreover, they will be faced with a court-ordered restitution.
- If within the next five upcoming years a DWI violator makes his/her second offense they will be subject to a period of one month to one year of jail time. On the other hand, if they made a second offense within a five to ten year period they will only be subject to a minimum of a period of ten days in jail. Additionally, they could be asked to use the ignition interlock device and would have to pay a fine of at least $500. Their driver’s license could be restricted and their administrative license would be suspended for 60 days. Their license would be revoked indefinitely and would be faced with a court-ordered restitution.
- Another penalty for a DWI in Virginia is that If the DWI has reached his/her third offense within a five year period of his/her second offense then he/she will be subject to six months in jail. However, if the third offense that the DWI violator makes is within a five to ten year period from the second offense, then he/she would be subject to only 90 days or three months in jail. Their license would be revoked for an indefinite time and their driver’s license could be restricted. Also, they could be possibly asked to do the VASAP and/or to use the ignition interlock device. Additionally, they would have to pay a fine of $1000 and their administrative license would be suspended until the end of their trial. Finally, they will be faced will a court-ordered restitution and will be issued a felony charge.
- In accordance with Virginia’s DWI penalties, the fourth offense for a DUI would cause the violator to be subject to an administrative license suspension until his/her trial, a fine of $1,000, a court-ordered restitution, a license revocation, jail time for a minimum of one year period, VASAP, ignition interlock device, restriction to his/her driver’s license, and finally, a felony charge.
Penalties for DWI violators under the age of 21 in Virginia
If a person younger than the age of 21 drives while he/she has a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) of at least 0.2 percent or above then he/she will have to complete a minimum of 50 hours of community service or pay a fine of $500. Additionally, their license will be suspended for up to one year from their conviction date and could possibly be asked to do the VASAP and/or their driver’s license could be suspended.
The Penalties for a DWI violator of a BAC 0.15 percent or above in Virginia
- If a DWI violator has committed his/her first offense with a BAC of at least 0.15 percent he/she will be subject to an additional five days in jail. Furthermore, if he/she makes a second offense within a ten year period from the first offense then he/she will be subject to an additional ten days in jail;
- Moreover, when a DWI violator has committed his/her first conviction with a BAC of 0.20 percent or higher then they will be subject to an additional ten days in jail. On the other hand, if he/she makes a second offense with an extremely high BAC such as 0.20 or above then they will have to pay a $500 fine and will be subject to 20 days in jail if the offense is committed within a ten year period since the first offense.
If you need a Virginia DWI Lawyer to help you with your DWI case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia DWI Attorneys can help you. C