In the state of Maryland, indecent exposure is defined as the willful exposure of one’s private parts (in this case, their genitals, buttocks or female breasts) in the presence of other people in a public with an intent to reach sexual gratification or to shock and alarm others. This intent is not required in the law in Maryland, and the people present must not be so physically, and can simply be bystanders watching from a nearby window or vehicle.
Indecent exposure is also present in prison. Inmate indecent exposure refers to an inmate’s intentional exposure of his genitals in the presence of a correctional officer with the intent to alarm, harass, embarrass or abuse the officer.
Furthermore, it is also possible that a person commits indecent exposure in their own property, despite the common idea that people can do whatever they please within their own private property. This occurs if a person is changing or walking without any clothing on in clear view of a window or in front of people passing by. The implications of this crime are the same as when it’s done in a public place.
Women who are breastfeeding in public constitute an exception to the indecent exposure laws. Women are legally allowed to breastfeed their babies in public and covering themselves with a blanket is not a legal requirement.
In the state of Maryland, indecent exposure is a misdemeanor that is considered a common law crime, which means it is based on juridical case rulings and may vary through time. However, the punishments and penalties for the crime are set by a statute.
The penalty for indecent exposure in Maryland can reach up to 3 years in jail time and can constitute a hefty fine of $1,000. It is worth noting that such cases ending in jail time is not a very common thing to happen.
Unlike many other states which require individuals who have committed indecent exposure to register as sex offenders, the state of Maryland does not require their placement in the sex offenders’ registry. However, if circumstances such as the crime being committed in a presence of a minor under the age of 18 in a sexual nature, the individual may be required to be registered as a sex offender by the state of Maryland. Moreover, committing the crime in the presence of children under the age of 15 may results in additional sexual assault charges being filed against the individual.
Finally, individuals accused of indecent exposure must contact and hire a defense attorney as soon as possible. The latter will aid them in facing the accusations and dealing with the paperwork while defending them in the best way possible. Not only may being accused of indecent exposure result in jail time or in a significant fine, it could also tarnish the reputation of the individual in question and cause them to suffer from public humiliation.
If you need a Maryland indecent exposure Lawyer to help you with your indecent exposure case in Maryland, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Maryland indecent exposure Attorneys can help you. B