Are Speeding Tickets A Misdemeanor In Virginia Fairfax Attorney?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google

There are three types of traffic violations in Virginia, traffic violations, traffic misdemeanors, and traffic felonies. Speeding falls under traffic violations and not misdemeanors. While a traffic violation is less serious than a misdemeanor or felony, it can also have serious consequences on the driver’s driving record and auto insurance rates. Also, it can lead to the driver’s driving license being revoked or suspended in the future.

Misdemeanor or felony convictions come with even more serious consequences than the ones of traffic violations.

The following are common traffic violations in Virginia:

  • Speeding;
  • Driving with a broken or non-functioning taillight or headlight;
  • Making an illegal U-turn;
  • Not being able to come to completely stopping the car at a red traffic light before turning right;
  • Running a red light;
  • Driving too close to a vehicle;
  • Improper passing;
  • Failing to yield;
  • Improper turn; and/or
  • Not obeying highway signs or lane markings;

The following are some misdemeanor traffic violations:

  • Driving on a suspended license: This is a class one misdemeanor which is the most serious in the state of Virginia. The punishments include up to one year in jail, a fine that may be up to $2,500, and a suspension of the driver’s license for 90 days;
  • Driving on a revoked license: This is also a class one misdemeanor with a sentence that is similar to driving on a suspended license. However, if this offense is repeated for the third time it would be a class six felony. In addition, the driver’s driving license would be revoked;
  • Reckless driving: The driver could be charged with reckless driving for a number of speeding violations, like driving more than 20 miles over the speed limit or over 80 miles per hour no matter what the stated speed limit is. This is a class one misdemeanor, with sentences that are similar to driving on a suspended or revoked license. In addition, the driver’s driving license might be suspended for up to one year;
  • Driving under the influence (DUI):first offense DUI charge is a class one misdemeanor. The punishments can include a fine of between $250 and $2,500, jail time of up to one year, revocation of the driver’s driving license for one year, and more.

Traffic offenses can become felonies depending on the case. Felonies are the most serious offenses in the state of Virginia. The punishments are more serious, and the driver would serve any sentence in a state correctional facility rather than a jail. Two frequent examples of traffic offenses that are charged as felonies are third offense DUIs and hit and run accidents where the victim is critically injured or killed.

The driver must know the speeding laws of the state of Virginia to avoid legal problems. The way to avoid getting a speeding ticket in Virginia is to not go over 80 miles per hour. The driver must keep his/her speed no more than 19 miles per hour over the stated speed limit of the area that he/she is in. But if the speed limit is 65 miles per hour, he/she still has to maintain it less than 80 miles per hour too.

If you need a Virginia Speeding Tickets Lawyer to help you with your Speeding Tickets case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Speeding Tickets Attorneys can help you.

Close Menu