In Maryland, sex crimes can be classified into four degrees with different punishments for each of them. They include online activities such as child sexual abuse material, or better known as child pornography. As the value of the rating increases, the severity of the same punishment decreases; that is, the third degree sexual offense is more severe with its punishment than a fourth degree sexual offense. The sexual offense differs from rape in that there is no sexual intercourse in any of the four degrees. Unlike sexual crime, rape has only two degrees instead of four.
A third degree sexual offense is sexual contact (touching any of the victim’s private parts for pleasure or abuse) without the victim’s consent, while using a weapon, injuring the victim, using the assistance of another person or victim is mentally incompetent (under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or suffering from any other mental disability). The victim can also be under 14 years old and the aggressor can be at least four years old. The punishment for a third degree sexual offense in Maryland is a felony with a maximum sentence of ten years in prison.
If you are accused of a sexual offense in Maryland, you have the right to speak with a criminal defense attorney. A Maryland sex crimes attorney can reduce the charges. If he was wrongfully accused of a sex crime that he did not commit, a good attorney can also help prove his innocence. However, DNA evidence is of great importance in sex crime cases. DNA evidence can support a victim’s evidence or can show that the accused person is innocent and had nothing to do with the sex crime. A psychologist plays an important role in a case like this, usually with young defendants who may not be telling the truth as a result of being angry with a family member.Physical evidence is really important to prove that the victim has been injured by a sex offender.
Unlike the third degree sex crime, the first degree carries a much more severe punishment of more than 25 years in prison. A person can be charged with a first degree sexual offense if the victim is under the age of 13 and the offender is over the age of 18.
Second degree may seem similar to third degree, but a second degree sex crime charge in Maryland means the perpetrator will be charged with a felony and a maximum of 20 years in prison. However, fourth degree is much less serious than third degree.It usually occurs in a primary or secondary school, when an authority figure (for example, a teacher) is involved in a sexual act with a minor. People charged with fourth-degree sex crimes in Maryland can face up to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine. If the same person is charged a second time, they will spend a longer period in jail (approximately three years). In any of these cases, it is important that you contact a lawyer to advise you and explain your rights.
If you need a Maryland sex crimes attorney to help you with your Maryland sex crimes case, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Maryland sex crimes attorneys can help. C