How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Driving Record in the State Of Virginia Fairfax Lawyer
- Posted by admin
- 0 Comment(s)
When operating a motor vehicle, the driver is considered driving under the influence (DUI) if his/her blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 percent or higher. The state of Virginia has extremely tough consequences for DUI. A DUI conviction is so serious to the extent that it remains on the driver’s criminal record forever. This means that police officers can see this charge anytime they pull the driver over on the roads. Also, if the driver applies for a job, try to adopt a child, or apply for anything that requires a background check, a criminal record will appear under the driver’s name. If the driver is convicted of a DUI in Virginia, his/her conviction will stay on his/her DMV record for eleven years. The amount of years is different from the driving record and the criminal record. In the driving record it will be removed after 11 years, meanwhile, in the criminal record, it will stay forever. In the state of Virginia, the only way the driver can get his/her DUI charge removed is if the driver is proven innocent, he/she were wrongly accused of the crime, or the charges have been dismissed.
Having a clean driving record is very important since it will determine the driver’s car insurance prices. The driver’s driving record is an enormous considered factor in the price of the driver’s insurance policy. It is one of the initial points insurance companies look at when they evaluate the driver’s risk level. If the driver has high-risk levels he/she will pay more for car insurance.
This means that if the driver’s driving record is stained with tickets, or, in this case, a DUI, his/her insurance rates will rise. Insurance companies typically consider the last three to five years of the driver’s driving record when they are calculating a premium. If the driver accumulates multiple infractions during that time, his/her insurance company might even cancel their coverage.
How Can a Driver Check his/her Driving Record?
If the driver is wondering how many tickets, demerit points, or charges are in their driving record he/she can check it. This information can be found online, the driver is going to need identification and his/her personal information to access it. The driver can also get a copy of the record in person directly from the DMV. It is also possible that the driver’s insurance agent has a copy on file.
Will the driver’s DUI charge appear in other states?
The majority of the states transfer violations from past states. It depends on the driver’s new state laws, but it’s most likely that the driver’s DUI charge will show up on any driving record. That’s the case if the driver gets a DUI charge while out of his/her home state, or if he/she moves to a new state with an old DUI on his/her record.
If the driver gets a DUI charge while visiting another state, it will most likely be shared with his/her home state’s DMV through the Driver License Compact.
If you need a Virginia DUI Lawyer to help you with your DUI case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia DUI Attorneys can help you.