How much does an Uncontested Divorce Cost in Virginia Fairfax Lawyer?

A divorce is a legal ending of a marriage between two individuals by a court or any other authorized legal body in accordance to the laws of Virginia?

A divorce may end fast and may extend for a number of years depending on the type of divorce happening. The average range of time taken for a divorce to finalize is between three months to two years.

The two types of divorce are the following:

Contested divorce: a divorce in which the two individuals of the divorce cannot agree on the divorce terms and conditions. Such terms and conditions include the following:

  • Division of assets;
  • Allocation of debts;
  • Child support; and
  • Custody of children

Uncontested divorce: a divorce in which both parties agree on all conditions of the divorce. In this way, the court is not needed to interfere in such conditions. These conditions may include the custody of a child if there is one between them, who pays child support, etc. An uncontested divorce will make the divorce simpler and faster and will minimize the expenses.

For any sort of divorce, for each situation, the initial step is to record a dissension with the suitable area family court. The documenting charge for this will differ from region to region. On average the range of documenting charge will be between $100 and $400. If there is a chance that the individual cannot pay the documenting fee, he/ she may ask for a waiver expressing that he/ she do not have the fundamental money related resources.

The overall cost for an uncontested divorce in accordance with the laws of Virginia will depend on a number of conditions. These conditions include the following:

  • If a lawyer was hired by either individual or not;
  • If all conditions were agreed or some slight conditions weren’t which will need a judge to deal with;
  • If a divorce mediator is hired or not;
  • If either side hires an attorney for private legal counsel; and
  • The judge’s decision on the cost of divorce.

Certain agencies provide uncontested divorces in the state of Virginia in a very short time. These agencies may averagely charge as following:

The divorce will averagely be for $595 plus the court expenses which are $84 under these certain conditions:

  • There was a legal separation between the two parties of the divorce for six months;
  • At least one of the parties lived in the state of Virginia for six months before the divorce; and
  • The two parties do not have mutual children between them.
  • The divorce will take one week to finalize.

The divorce will averagely be $395 plus the court fees which are $84 under the following conditions in practice in Virginia:

  • There was a legal separation between the two parties of the divorce for 12 months;
  • The two parties have at least one mutual child between them;
  • At least one of the parties lived in the state of Virginia for six months before the divorce; and
  • The divorce will take three weeks to finalize.

If you need a Virginia Divorce lawyer to help you with your divorce case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia divorce attorneys can help you.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google
Close Menu