The code of the state of Virginia states that reckless driving of a vehicle is defined as having a speed of 80 miles per hour or more or having a speed of or exceeding an interval of 20 miles per hour with the speed limit assigned on the road. For instance, if the person drives with a speed of 55 miles per hour while the speed sign indicates that the speed limit is 35 miles per hour then the person is considered to be driving recklessly and will face a charge by an official if caught.
The state of Virginia considers reckless driving a serious offense and so by exceeding the speed limit of 80 miles per hour, the person will face real problems such as fines which range from $1000 to $2500, the possibility to enter jail for a period which may last for one year and in some cases, the suspension of the person’s freedom of driving. This reckless driving is considered a crime and so most of the times it is not forgotten with a small payment alone. Reckless driving cannot be considered as solely a speed ticket but a crime which may lead the convicted person to jail.
The state of Virginia defines reckless driving generally to be a speed of 80 miles per hour or above because they want a safer driving environment and due to the fact that reckless driving cases cost more than normal cases which allows an increase in finance. The low speed of 80 miles per hour allows more reckless driving cases to occur and hence a high cash flow.
The speed limit for reckless driving is 80 miles per hour at the moment because highway speed limits were usually 60-65 miles per hour. This explains why the speed limit is 80 miles per hour since the law states that reckless speeding is having a speed of 20 miles per hour than the speed limit given on signs. Now, road signs indicate that the speed limit is 70 miles per hour which may lead to a change of the 80 miles per hour limit as there was a bill in 2016 to change the limit to 85 miles per hour.
Since the sign limits indicated on highways mostly changed to 70 miles per hour, there is a greater chance to drive recklessly as the 80 miles per hour reckless speed did not officially change and so a person can easily forget and unintentionally increases his/her speed by 11 miles per hour more and so will be considered to drive recklessly.
Reckless driving in the state of Virginia is considered to be a speed faster than 80 miles per hour or one that is faster than the speed limit indicated on roads by more than 20 miles per hour. Reckless driving in Virginia is a strict violation of rules and is punishable by fines and jail time.
The state of Virginia has a low-speed limit of 80 miles per hour for several reasons which include the prospect of increasing cash flow as reckless speeding cases ask for a high cost.
If you need a Virginia Reckless Driving Lawyer to help you with your Reckless Driving case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Reckless Driving Attorneys can help you.