Maryland Statutory Rape Laws Age Of Consent Maryland Rockville Lawyer
- Posted by admin
- 0 Comment(s)
Truthfully, there is no specific offense called statutory rape in the state of Maryland. However, there are a number of laws that prohibit sexual contact or intercourse with minors under a certain age. Moreover, in cases of statutory rape, it doesn’t matter if the child initiates the intercourse or consents to it because the decisive fact is whether or not the child is underage.
There are a few laws that criminalize sexual intercourse with a child in Maryland. Moreover, the more serious offenses collaborate with the age of the child; if they are younger the crime will be more severe.
Some of the crimes that can be labeled as statutory rape are:
2nd-degree rape: this is the most severe statutory rape offense in Maryland because the offender engaged in sexual intercourse with a minor under the age of 14 while being at least 4 years older than the victim. The penalty for this charge is facing up to 20 years’ imprisonment
3rd-degree sexual offense: this is the second most sever statutory rape offense because the offender committed sexual acts such as touching of the genitals or intercourse with a child under the age of 16 while the offender is at least 21 years old. The penalty for this charge is facing up to ten years in prison
4th-degree sexual offense: the least sever case of statutory rape offense in Maryland because the offender committed sexual acts with a child aged 15 while being at least 4 years older than the victim. The penalty for this charge is either being fined a $1,000 or face up to a year in prison. There is a possibility for incurring both.
Moreover, other laws that constitute statutory rape are:
Teachers and school employees: it is a criminal offense in Maryland for teachers along with other school staff who are over the age of 21 to have sexual relations with the school students who are younger than 18 and under their authority. The penalty for this offense is either a 1-year prison sentence or a fine of $1,000, there is the possibility of incurring both and if this is a second conviction then you face up to a 3-year prison sentence.
Child enticement: child enticement where people invite minors under younger than 18 is a crime in Maryland regardless if no sexual activity occurred between the minor and the offender. The penalty for this crime is either a $5,000 fine or a possible 25-year prison sentence. There is a possibility of incurring both the fine and prison time.
However, for offenders who were convicted with 2 or more offenses of engaging in underage sex with minors can receive a sentence of life in prison.
Moreover, for individuals who were convicted of statutory rape along with any of the related crimes are ordered to register themselves as sex offenders for a period of 15 years. Furthermore, offenders also have to report their personal information to the local police several times a year. Being registered as a sex offender can severely hinder your employment prospects.
If you need a Maryland Statutory Rape Lawyer to help you with your Statutory Rape case in Maryland, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Maryland Rape Attorneys can help you. C