Class 1 Misdemeanor Virginia
A misdemeanor is defined as a minor crime which is less serious than a felony. It is described as an illegal criminal act which may lead to severe punishments. Misdemeanors are ranked by class ranging from less serious crimes such as mischief to assault. The less serious crimes are ranked as class three or four or class D misdemeanors. The most serious crimes ranked as misdemeanors are taken as class one or class A misdemeanors.
The punishments for misdemeanors in the state of Virginia range from fines that may go up to $2500 and the possibility of entering jail for a period of one year.
From all misdemeanor crimes in the state of Virginia, the least serious of crimes are classified as class four or class D misdemeanors. These crimes are more serious than simply being called infractions yet they are the least serious misdemeanors. Class four or class D misdemeanors are special cases because there are not any specific events mentioned in the class. When a case is less serious it is investigated to see if it is categorized within a class three or class C misdemeanor, an infraction or between them both. If it is the latter case then the case will be classified as a class D or class four misdemeanor. A class four or class D misdemeanor will charge a fine that may go up to $250.
The second least serious crimes among misdemeanor crimes in the state of Virginia are the ones ranked as class three or class C misdemeanors. Class three or class C misdemeanors include mischief, careless destruction, false reporting, stealing something which has a value of less than $50, etc. The punishment for a class three or class C misdemeanor is either fine which may not exceed $500 or a small period of jail time. The latter case is rare as class three or class C misdemeanors are usually minor to an extent at which a jail time punishment is not needed.
Class two or Class B misdemeanors come after class three misdemeanors. Class two or class B misdemeanors are stricter than minor crimes yet are not serious to an extent at which they could be ranked as class A misdemeanors. Class B or class two misdemeanors include crimes such as trespassing, threatening, prostitution, graffiti, etc. The punishment for these kinds of crimes includes either a fine that may reach but not pass $1000, jail time for a period no more than six months or both.
Class one or class A misdemeanors are one class short from becoming a felony. Crimes categorized as class A or class one misdemeanors are the most serious crimes that could be called misdemeanors. Class A or class A misdemeanors include crimes such as assault, burglary, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, possessing a weapon illegally, etc. the punishment for these types of crimes includes either a fine that may reach but not pass $2500, jail time for a period no more than one year or both.
Virginia misdemeanor laws are categorized into four classes that vary depending on the seriousness of the crime done. Class four misdemeanors are the less serious crimes which include crimes that are near but may not fit the description of an infraction. Class one misdemeanors are the most serious among misdemeanors which include driving under the influence of alcohol. The punishment for these crimes also varies depending on their class.
If you need a Virginia Misdemeanor Lawyer to help you with your Misdemeanor case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Misdemeanor Attorneys can help you. C