Virginia Speeding Ticket Out State Fine Lawyer
Speeding in Virginia is considered one of the most serious traffic violations.
The driver who is driving faster than the posted limit on a highway, road, or street will be charged with a regular speeding ticket. The speed limit depends on the area and the type of roads. But, if the driver exceeds too far above the posted limit, in that case he/she will be charged with a criminal offense which is reckless driving.
A basic Virginia moving violation is a regular ticket, but by paying the fees that the driver is charged in this conviction, he/she is pleading guilty, which demerits some points on his/her driving license. Having more than one traffic offense could result in an increased number of penalties and black marks on the driving history.
In some specific places, the Virginia traffic laws prohibit speeding beyond the basic speed rules. These places are:
- Residential districts;
- School zones;
- Bridges and tunnels; and
- Highway work zones.
A uniform fine schedule is set for pre-payable moving violations by the Supreme Court of Virginia.
The fines that are listed in the rules are the only allowed fines, therefore, the court officials have to respect the same and are not allowed to impose new different fines.
- Code 46.2-870: 55 miles per hour is the maximum rate of travel set for interstate highways in Virginia for passenger vehicles, but on some highways, the maximum rate of travel for passenger vehicles is up to 70 miles per hour. However, the set for trucks and other heavy vehicles is 45 miles per hour.
- Code 46.2-874: 25 miles per hour is the set speed limit for streets in business and residential districts.
- Code 46.2-875: 35 miles per hour speed limit is set for highways in towns and cities. At the same time, the municipalities own the right to set their speed limits on the roads they maintain.
- Code 46.2-1300: By this code, Virginia towns, cities, and counties in their jurisdictions, have the right to decrease the maximum limits.
Getting a speeding ticket is not only being charged with a fee but also assessing three, four or six demerit points that are added to the driver’s driving record. These points could be added in the following way:
- Three points ticket – for one to nine miles per hour over the posted maximum rate of travel;
- Four points ticket – for 10 to 19 miles per hour over the maximum limit; and
- Six points ticket – for more than 20 miles per hour over the maximum limit.
In addition to this, the guilty plea or conviction will affect the car insurance policy rates. The driver has to pay the ticket fees before the hearing date on the ticket. This payment can be done by mail, in the courthouse, or online. When paying by mail, the payment can be done as a money order or by check addressed to the court name that is written on the driver’s ticket. The money can be directly paid in the Clerk’s office in the courthouse. If paying online it could be done by credit card at the e-mail address of the court.
If you need a Virginia Speeding Tickets Lawyer to help you with your Speeding Tickets case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Speeding Tickets Attorneys can help you.
You can count us to be your Virginia speeding ticket out of state lawyer in Fairfax, Virginia speeding ticket out of state lawyer in Fairfax City, Virginia speeding ticket out of state lawyer in Prince William County, Virginia speeding ticket out of state lawyer in Loudoun County, Virginia speeding ticket out of state lawyer in Emporia, Virginia speeding ticket out of state lawyer in Arlington County and Virginia speeding ticket out of state lawyer in Alexandria. C