DUI In Virginia Penalties Fairfax Lawyer

DUI penalties for 21 years of age and above in Virginia:

  • The first offense that a DUI (driver under influence) violator does, he/she will be facing many consequences. Firstly, his/her administrative license will be suspended for a period of seven days and he/she will have to pay a fee of $250 to $300. His/her license would be revoked for a year. The DUI could possibly be asked to do the ASAP (Alcohol Safety Action Program), to use an ignition interlock device or his/her driver’s license could be restricted. Another consequence faced by the DUI is court-ordered restitution.
  • The second offense that a DUI violator makes, he/she will be subject to a jail sentence of a period of one month to one year, in case it is within fewer than five years of the first offense. On the other hand, if the second offense is within five to ten years of the first offense then he/she will be subject to a ten-day jail sentence. Additionally, his/her administrative license will be suspended for a period of 60 days and they will have to pay a fine of at least $500. Their license will be revoked indefinitely and they could possibly be asked to use the ignition interlock device and/or they could face a restriction of their driver’s license. Furthermore, they could face court-ordered restitution.
  • The third offense that a violator makes, his/her administrative license will be suspended until their trial. If the offense is within five years from the second offense then he/she will be subject to a six-month sentence in jail, but if it was within a ten year time period then he/she only subject to a 90 day jail time sentence. The DUI violator could be possibly required to do the ASAP, ignition interlock device or their driver’s license could be restricted. Additionally, they must pay a fine of $1000 and may face court-ordered restitution. Their license will be revoked indefinitely. Finally, they will be issued a felony charge.
  • The fourth offense that a DUI violator makes he/she will have to deal with much tougher consequences. Firstly, they will be subject to at least a year of jail time and would have to pay a fine of $1000. They could possibly be asked to do the ASAP, to use the ignition interlock device and/or their driver’s license could be restricted. Their administrative license will be suspended until the end of their trial and they may face court-ordered restitution. Additionally, they would be subjected to a felony charge and their license will be revoked indefinitely.

Additionally, if someone is driving drunk and transporting a child of 17 years of age or younger, he/she would be assigned to some penalties that are additional to the regular penalties. 

These involve but are not limited to, fines between $500 and $1000 and an extra five days in jail.

If a DUI has a 0.15 BAC (blood alcohol concentration) or more in Virginia:

  • When a DUI has 0.15 BAC at least and commits his/her first offense then he/she is subject to an extra five days in jail but if he/she is at his/her second offense then he/she would be subject to ten days of jail time if its within ten years of his/her first offense.
  • In case a DUI has a BAC of 0.20 or higher and commits his/her first offense then he/she will be subject to ten days jail time. Moreover, in case he/she commits his/her second offense within a ten year time period of his/her first offense then they would be subject to a 20-day jail sentence and a fine of $500.

If you need a Virginia DUI Lawyer to help you with your DUI case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia DUI Attorneys can help you. C