Speeding Ticket Virginia Speeding Ticket Fairfax Lawyer What Happens
- Posted by admin
- 0 Comment(s)
In the state of Virginia, there are two sorts of speeding cases, reckless driving, and ordinary speeding. Reckless driving means going over 80 miles per hour at any given time or any speed that is 20 miles per hour over the specified speed limit. The violation in question is a class one misdemeanor punishable by up to $2,500, a maximum amount of 12 months in jail and having the vehicle operating’s license suspended. This type of conviction will stay on the driver’s driving record for 11 years.
However, if it is an ordinary uniform summons which means going 10-19 miles per hour over the limit there is no chance of jail time or suspension of the vehicle operating’s driving license. In this case, the operator must pay $6 for every mile over the limit. This conviction will stay in the vehicle operating’s driving record for five years or more.
In the state of Virginia, uniform summons are pre-payable offenses. This means that a person does not have to be in court if he/she pays the ticket before the court date. When the operator pays the ticket he/she is admitting guilt over the traffic offense, which leads to the operator having a conviction on his driving record.
When the operator receives the ticket, he/she must read the ticket carefully and search for the “law section” he/she is charged with. If it’s an average speeding, he/she would have the choice of paying it or hiring a lawyer to present his/her case in court.
First, the operator must consider how he/she will plead, guilty or not guilty. After that, take the appropriate action before the court date listed on the traffic ticket. If the operator fails to act accordingly before the court date, the court could suspend the driver’s license.
If the operator decides to plead guilty, he/she has the option to pay the ticket online. If the operator pleads not guilty he/she must hire a lawyer to present their case in court. Virginia does not dismiss traffic tickets. Instead, it offers “safe driving point” to counterbalance any demerit points the driver has accumulated on his/her driving record.
Traffic ticket fines depend on the offense. The driver will find this amount on the actual citation. If the ticket does not include the exact amount owed, the drivers must contact the court through the Virginia courts case information site or contact the law enforcement agency that issued the citation.
If the driver is below the age of 18 when he/she mails the citation he/she must have the section labeled “Procedure if Motorist is a Juvenile” signed by a guardian and notarized.
Traffic offense convictions for juveniles result in the following punishments:
- If it is the first conviction, the driver must complete a driver safety clinic within 90 days or else the DMV will suspend the drivers driving privilege until he/she has completed the course and paid a reinstatement fee.
- If it is the second conviction, the DMV will suspend the driver’s privilege of driving for 90 days.
- If it is the third conviction, the DMV will revoke the driver’s driving privilege for one year, or until the driver has reached the age of 18, whichever is longer.
If you need a Virginia Speeding Tickets Lawyer to help you with your uniform summons case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Speeding Tickets Attorneys can help you. C