Maryland Second Degree Assault lawyer
Assault is characterized as the demonstration of a physical assault on another person. In the state of Maryland, assault is done in three distinctive ways. The three different ways are the following:
- The guilty party has committed battery;
- The guilty party endeavored to submit battery; and
- The guilty party influenced an individual to have fear of battery in spite of the fact that it never happened to her/him.
A battery is a real contact in an assault. In many states in the United States of America, the assault might be considered as a lawful offense or wrongdoing relying upon the kind of attack done. In the United States of America, a lawful offense is normally considered a felony while wrongdoing is the same as a misdemeanor. The penalty for such felony or misdemeanor will rely upon the felony class if the assault is considered as a lawful offense or the misdemeanor class if the assault is considered as wrongdoing
An offense is a minor misdemeanor or wrongdoing which is one stage underneath a felony or a lawful offense in positioning while a felony is a noteworthy crime which may be punished by death if required depending upon the kind of crime done. In the state of Maryland, an assault cannot be considered as a class one felony which implies that an assault cannot be punishable by death.
In the state of Maryland, there are two attack degrees for which characterize what discipline or penalty is given for the attack crime. A second-degree attack is a typical attack where a physical attack is done and makes the victim is extreme agony yet the guilty party did not indent to cause such torment. This degree of attack is considered as an offense in the state of Maryland. The punishment or penalty for such crime might be detainment/ imprisonment for a period that may not surpass ten years and additionally a fine that may go up to however not surpass $2,500.
A second-degree attack is possibly considered as a lawful offense when it includes a government officer. The discipline in such case is detainment for a period that may reach yet not surpass ten years or potentially a fine that may go up to however not surpass $5,000. Assault to a child or baby is likewise considered as a misdemeanor and with a penalty like other second degree attacks which are considered as felonies. The punishment in such case would be detainment/ imprisonment for a period that may go up to yet not surpass ten years and potentially a fine that may reach however not surpass $2,500. In some cases, the judge in a court of law in which the case is done decides to punish the convicted offender with imprisonment for a period that may not exceed ten years but with no fine charged along the imprisonment penalty.
In the state of Maryland, in most assault cases, the offender’s lawyer will aim at proving that the offense itself is a second-degree attack instead of it being a first-degree attack thus minimizing the punishment as much as possible.
If you need a Maryland Second Degree Assault lawyer to help you with your criminal case in Maryland, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Maryland criminal defense attorneys can help you. C