Why Should You Know the Speeding Laws in Virginia Fairfax Attorney?
- Posted by admin
- 0 Comment(s)
In the state of Virginia, whether the driver is a resident or just passing through the state, it is very important that he/she is well informed about Virginia’s speeding and traffic laws. Speeding violation and rash operation of a vehicle are considered very serious offenses in Virginia. This state treats speeding violations harshly compared to other states because its legislators want to keep people safe by making the roads safer.
Rash operation of a vehicle in the state of Virginia is considered as a first class misdemeanor. It is a criminal offense and punishments can reach a fine of $2,500, possible jail time of up to 12 months and having the driver’s riding license revoked. Rash operation of a vehicle forbids the driver from driving over 80 miles per hour or on any speed that is 20 miles per hour over the limit.
This first-class misdemeanor has the same level of offense as driving under the influence. That is how serious this offense is taken.
If the vehicle operator speeds he/she should know which road’s tickets will cost more, the operator can expect to pay $6 for every mile over the limit he/she was driving. This fee jumps up to $7 per mile over when driving in an educational institution or work zone and $8 per mile over in a residential area. Drivers should avoid speeding on such roads due to their high punishments and risks.
If the vehicle operator is ticketed for driving 20 miles per hour over the limit, he/she will face a reckless driving charge and will be required to pay a fee for three years. The operator will be charged with a misdemeanor for their first offense and will face a $350 fine. A second rash operation vehicle offense is a felony and requires the driver to pay a $1,000 fine every year for three years. Such felony will appear in the felon’s record. Not only is a operator not allowed to speed but also to drive slowly, a driver can be fined $30 if he/she is caught driving too slowly.
Another reason for why a driver should know the uniform summons in Virginia is that a vehicle operator should know what to do when he/she receives the ticket and what options he/she has available. If the driver decides to take the case to court the driver must know that Virginia, unlike other states, does not dismiss uniform summons, instead, it provides “safe driving points” to counterbalance any demerit points the driver has gathered on his/her driving record. This should be considered before the driver chooses to take the case to court.
Juvenile vehicle operator should also know the driving laws of Virginia since the laws for people below the legal age differ from the people above it.
The vehicle operator must know the uniform summons of Virginia to avoid such legal issues. The way to avoid getting a reckless driving ticket in the state of Virginia is to not go over 80 miles per hour. The driver must keep his/her speed no more than 19 miles per hour over the speed limit. But if the speed limit is 65 miles per hour, he/she still has to keep it less than 80 miles per hour too.
If you need a Virginia Speeding Tickets Lawyer to help you with your Uniform Summons case in Virginia, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Virginia Speeding Tickets Attorneys can help you. C