Traffic Lawyer Petersburg VA
Charged for reckless driving in Petersburg, VA? You should know that the consequences could be serious. Do not assume that this charge is like a simple traffic ticket that can be settled by paying a fine. In Virginia, reckless driving is classified as Class I misdemeanor. The Petersburg traffic court will consider the facts presented by the charging officer and make a determination on the sentence, which could mean jail time if the judge finds the offense to warrant such treatment. The judge will also consider whether to suspend your driver’s license for up to six months and may impose a fine of up to $2500.
Under Commonwealth of Virginia State Law Code 46.2-862 Exceeding speed limit is a Reckless Driving Offense:
This means that even on the interstate with the posted speed limit of 70 MPH, if you are travelling just 11 miles over the speed limit or 81 MPH, you could be charged with Reckless Driving in Petersburg, VA.
Petersburg VA Reckless Driving Lawyers
Lawyers who practice in the Petersburg courthouse often observe defendants representing themselves and doing themselves more harm than good. A reason or excuse that may seem plausible to the average person may not be convincing to a judge who has heard the same “defense” many times before. A skilled and experienced Petersburg traffic attorney will be able to defend you in a way that will tend to yield the best results. A knowledgeable Petersburg traffic lawyer can tell you whether you will need to go to court and appear personally, or appear by counsel. This may require the attorney to make a special motion to ask the court to excuse your presence if coming to court would cause you undue hardship.
Moreover, the Petersburg traffic attorney will make sure that you are aware of what your rights are. Do not hesitate to hire an experienced attorney as it will save you from a lot of trouble.
What Are Some Of The Commonly Charged Traffic Tickets in Petersburg City Virginia?
Traffic tickets are also known as traffic infractions in Petersburg, Virginia. They may be considered moving violations, which usually result in demerit points against your license, or non-moving violations, which typically result in fines only. Either way, the conviction is likely to be entered on your driving record. When you get a traffic ticket in Petersburg City, Virginia, the officer typically gives you a Virginia Uniform Summons. When you get a simple traffic infraction, you can usually prepay the fines and you do not have to go to Petersburg traffic court.
On a Virginia driving record, demerit points will remain for two years and the record of the offense will stay on your driving record anywhere from 3 to 11 years, depending on the offense. In addition, your driver’s license could get suspended if you pay your fines late or accumulate too many demerit points. Common Petersburg traffic infractions include:
- Driving with a taillight or headlight that does not work
- Failing to come to a complete stop at a red light before turning right
- Running a red light
- Driving too close to a vehicle
- Improper turn
- Improper passing
- Failing to yield
- Failing to obey a highway sign or lane marking
- Making an illegal U-turn
Virginia Misdemeanor Traffic Offenses
Some traffic tickets are considered misdemeanors in Petersburg, Virginia. If you are convicted, you face more serious penalties, will have a permanent criminal record, and be assessed demerit points on your driver’s record. Some common Petersburg traffic violations that fall into this category include:
- Driving on a suspended license. This is a Class 1 misdemeanor—the most serious in Virginia. The penalties include up to one year in jail, fines of up to $2,500, and a suspension of your license for 90 days. Speak to a Petersburg Driving On A Suspended License Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
- Driving on a revoked license. This is also a Class 1 misdemeanor with similar sentences to driving on a suspended license. However, a third offense would be a Class 6 felony. In addition, your driver’s license would be revoked—more serious than having it suspended with additional requirements for it to be reinstated. Speak to a Petersburg Driving On A Revoked License Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
- Driving Without A License. Virginia law exempts certain people. If you are a nonresident, a new Virginia resident, a military service member or their spouse, you may have additional technical legal defenses. Speak to a Petersburg Driving Without A License Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
If you’ve been charged with driving without a license in Virginia, don’t make the common mistake of trying to go it alone without an experienced Petersburg Virginia traffic lawyer. You need an aggressive and knowledgeable Petersburg traffic attorney who will fight for your rights and, where appropriate, negotiate a favorable outcome. Let us be your Petersburg traffic lawyer.
§ 46.2-300. Driving without license prohibited
No person, except those expressly exempted in §§ 46.2-303 through 46.2-308, shall drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver’s license, as provided in this article, satisfactorily passed the examination required by § 46.2-325, and obtained a driver’s license, nor unless the license is valid.
A violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Upon conviction under this section, the court may suspend the person’s privilege to drive for a period not to exceed 90 days.
DUI. A first offense DUI charge is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The penalties can include a fine of between $250 and $2,500, jail sentence of up to one year, revocation of your license for one year, and more. Speak to a Petersburg DUI Lawyer – Call 888-437-7747
Insurance and Security Clearance Ramifications
In addition to the actual penalties imposed by a court, you should consider the effect a conviction will have on your motor vehicle insurance rates. Insurance companies use their own point system and may raise your rates or refuse to renew your policy, even for a conviction for a single offense. If an insurance company raises your rates, this will usually be for a term of three years. These costs add up.
If you possess a government security clearance, this may also be affected by a conviction for a motor vehicle related charge, especially for offenses involving drugs or alcohol, or those for which you could be jailed.
If you have been charged with a Petersburg Reckless Driving or Petersburg DUI, call our law firm immediately and speak with one of our Petersburg Traffic Lawyers today – Call us at 888-437-7747. Our Petersburg traffic lawyers excel at defending clients charged with reckless driving, DUI and other traffic offenses.
Because so many people travel through this County, law enforcement is extremely vigilant and target high speed reckless driving, DUI and other traffic offenses. So if you have been charged with a high speed reckless driving offense, DUI or traffic ticket, call and speak to a Law Offices Of SRIS, P.C. Petersburg lawyer for real answers and options. 888-437-7747.
If you have received a traffic citation and you want to meet with a traffic lawyer, you can meet with a traffic lawyer at our Richmond office. Call today to schedule an appointment and speak with a Law Offices Of SRIS, P.C. traffic lawyer
Petersburg General District Court
11th Judicial District of Virginia
Ms Dana Helm Shannon
Phone: (804) 733-2374
Fax: (804) 733-2375
Clerk's Office Hours
8:00 AM – 4:00 PM
35 East Tabb Street
Petersburg, VA 23803
8:30 a.m., Mon., Tues., Thurs. & Fri
Incarcerated & Bond Motions Video
11:30 a.m., Mon & Fri
11:30 a.m., Tues & Thurs
Traffic Suspended License
Monday – Criminal: 9:00 a.m.
Mental Health Docket – 1:00 p.m., 1st & 3rd Mon.
Tuesday – Traffic
9:00 a.m., City Officers
10:30 a.m., State Troopers
Wednesday – Civil
No civil Docket will be held on the 5th Wed. of the month.
Thursday – Traffic
9:00 a.m., City Officers
1:00 p.m., City Officers
Friday – Criminal – 9:00 a.m.
Petersburg General District Court
Continuances granted by Judge. If request is not made in writing prior to the court date, the requesting party must appear in person to request the continuance. C