Maryland sex offense law is found in the Maryland Criminal Law Code, Title 3, Subtitle 3. Also, once a verdict is reached in court, the results are typically lifelong, along with a felony. sexual permanent accused of imputation. offender record. Similarly, in the event that the offender receives a shorter sentence, he will continue to receive the same penalties, which will make it extremely difficult to find a job, find loans, find housing in the future, among others.
Therefore, to help prove your innocence and preserve your quality of life, hiring a qualified Maryland sex crimes attorney is the best legal option for you because qualified Maryland sex crimes attorneys will use all possible resources in conjunction with skillful handling of your case to create a strong defense for your case.
Also, sex crimes in Maryland have 2 degrees of rape. The first degree refers to the illegality of having vaginal intercourse with another person without consent by means of intimidation or force and is found in Section 3-303 of the Maryland Penal Law Code. Additionally, first degree rape also comes into play if an individual does one or more of the following:
- Intimidating to disfigure, kidnap, injure, drown or kill the victim.
- Committing a violation at the same time as committing a robbery, no matter if it is first, second or third degree.
- Having the help of another person to commit this crime.
- Displaying a dangerous weapon on the victim.
In addition, the penalty for rape in the first degree is a sentence along with life in prison with the possibility of parole. However, in the event that the rape was committed on a minor (under 16 years of age), the penalty is the same but without the possibility of parole.
The charge of second degree rape is found in Section 3-304 of the Maryland Penal Law Code, and this code states that a person may not have vaginal intercourse without consent with another person if the victim is threatened with the use of force, if the offender is 4 years older than the victim, while the victim is a minor under 14 years of age, and if the aggressor knows that the victim is mentally ill or physically helpless. Additionally, in Maryland, date rape is also classified as a second degree rape.
The penalties for rape in the second degree are a prison term of up to 20 years along with a permanent conviction for sexual offense. However, if the offender is over the age of 18 and the victim is under the age of 13, a sentence of 15 to life is issued.
In addition to rape charges, attempted rape and other sex crimes, whether first or second degree, are found in Section 3-309 and 3-312 of the Maryland Penal Law Code, respectively. Under these codes, it is against the law to attempt first or second degree rape or a sexual offense against a person, even if the attempts do not lead to sexual contact or vaginal intercourse. Furthermore, the penalties for these charges in the form of a first degree is a sentence along with life in prison, while a second degree has a sentence but with a sentence of 20 years in prison.
If you need a Maryland sex crimes attorney to help you with your Maryland sex crimes case, call us at 888-437-7747. Our Maryland sex crimes attorneys can help. C